Home > Fun > Friday Stray Thoughts

Friday Stray Thoughts

February 13, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

FridayImage by Glenn McCoy

Happy Friday everyone!  For those of you looking for a little light lunchtime internet distraction to tide you over until quitting time, here’s a few Stray Thoughts for your Friday Afternoon

– – – – –

weight_lifting-300x224

This week I re-introduced strength training into my routine, for the first time in… well… a lot of months.  And by that I mean I lifted a bunch of weights on Tuesday that were WAY too heavy given how long it’s been since I last lifted weights.  My everything is sore, even still today, 3 days later.  I’m familiar with the general gist of Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness – I’m not terribly surprised at being really sore after not having lifted in a long time.  But I am surprised at how much I hurt, and how long it’s continued to hurt.  I’ve been walking real funny around the office this week, kinda like an elderly penguin.  Last night I went for a 20 minute hard run, and I could tell near the end when my form started to falter, and my arms started to swing a bit more wildly than normal, because my pectorals started to wince.  I’m clearly broken.

Tomorrow is my long run for the week, and while I wouldn’t normally plan to add strength on a long run day, I’m thinking it’s best to pick up a few (moderately less) heavy things tomorrow as well, lest the muscles relax too much again.

– – – – –

TriHoodie

I think this came across my Facebook feed this morning – for some random reason – which is totally amazing.  You all need to rush over to teespring.com and spend all your money on this hoodie.  Do it now, before you forget!

Because Sharks!!

(I have absolutely no affiliation with the people who make or sell this shirt.  I just think it’s totally fantastic and happen to have a birthday coming up… in 5 months… hint hint)

– – – – –

BeerJersey2

Speaking of amazing crap that I totally need but really shouldn’t spend money on, I came across this cycling jersey on Pinterest by way of a link to an amazon store (where, sadly, the link to the store on Amazon is no longer valid, otherwise I would gladly link it here and encourage you all to go and spend your money there).  Nevertheless, this jersey is still AMAZING and totally reminds me that spring is on it’s way, which means outdoor cycling is on it’s way.  And I’m truly in the mood for an awesome new cycling jersey (or 3) to get me through this summer!

– – – – –

Have a great weekend everybody!  Good Luck to everyone racing or training this weekend!!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

