Home > Fun > Cross Training: Curling Edition (or why I hurt so damn much this morning!!!)

Cross Training: Curling Edition (or why I hurt so damn much this morning!!!)

February 9, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

curling

Swimming and biking and running over and over and over again can get really tedious sometimes, especially during a Canadian winter.  I’m a big fan of getting other (usually social) forms of sport into the calendar.  I consider them cross training (okay, I’m stretching here a bit sometimes… but they are still active, do use muscles not normally used in my other training, and get me out and off the couch.  All of these are good things).

This winter I’ve decided to give curling a try.  After 3 weeks of Sunday night matches, I’m terrible.  I really stink at this game.  I’m also having an amazingly fun time!

Yesterday was a kinda gross weather day around these parts: grey, freezing drizzle, the kind of weather to make you want to stay inside with a good book or a few rounds of StarCraft.  But I knew I had a curling match planned – and I also owed myself a 60 minute run – so I decided to make a single trip out of the house, hit the treadmill for 60 minutes of 9:1 LSD running (note: the first time I’ve done a 60 minute run since last July!!  Gettin’ back at it!), snarf a granola bar and head straight to the curling rink.  I may have been a bit tired, and a bit hungry, and a bit low sugar for the game.  My teammate singing songs about nachos sure-as-shit didn’t help… nor did my singing along…

I played lead this week, after playing third the first two weeks.  I like lead – a lot more leeway in what constitutes a ‘successful’ shot, and a bit more exercise in sweeping more often.  I had a few successful shots, and one amazing shot with a perfect draw to the button (and if it wasn’t supposed to be a high guard that would have been amazing!!!).  I also managed to do a complete yardsale on the ice while sweeping once – complete face plant superman style, landed on my chest, and the slider that was hanging out in my back pocket ended up 2 sheets over.  I was laughing, but that ice really isn’t too forgiving.  Props to my co-sweeper for finishing the job for me!

In hindsight I should have had a nice hot bath when I got home last night.  My thighs and hamstrings are feeling it from the long run, and my chest and hip feeling it from falling on the ice.  I’m a sorry achy mess today (and I certainly didn’t make it to my morning swim this morning).  But it’s so worth it.  Turns out curling is a pretty fun sport (and having really fun team mates sure doesn’t hurt).  And it’s a great little change of pace from the routine swim, bike, run.

~D

  1. February 9, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    Achy, yes – but look at what you accomplished! Well done!

  2. February 9, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    Yard sales – yikes! Been there before! I love curling…wish I did it more. My arms and abs always hurt after curling.

    • February 10, 2015 at 8:53 am

      Agreed: abs = sore (especially 2 days after). It’s a good reminder though to keep working on my core

  3. February 9, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    I love curling! I always get sore after curling… either from falling, or only one leg from throwing the rock, haha 🙂

    • February 10, 2015 at 8:54 am

      For sure, my right leg gets much more work than my left leg. It’s fun though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

