Home > Tri Posts > Striving For Fitness

Striving For Fitness

January 27, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

GetOffTheCouch

I had a conversation this weekend with a friend of a friend who saw me wearing one of my triathlon race shirts and was impressed “wow – you really do triathlons?”  To me this seemed so odd.  Sure, I sign up for (and finish nearly last in) triathlons all the time.  Anyone can sign up for a race and finish last (that’s easy!!) But I don’t really consider myself a fit person – the prototype we think of as a “triathlete” – so I don’t find it all that impressive.  It’s hard to consider yourself a fit person when your training is inconsistent.  People who actually get to the gym every day, who actually set their alarm – and get out of bed – at 5am every day, who can turn their back on sweet or salty treats in the interest of their overall health, those are the people who impress me.

An article came through my twitter feed today that caught my eye: 10 Things Fit, Healthy People Do Differently Every Day from MindBodyGreen.com.  It really resonated with me.  This is almost a perfect list of the habits that I am trying (and struggling) to form for myself.  A few highlights that hit home:

Fit, healthy people have grit – I’m really prone to bursts of enthusiasm, that usually last about 4-6 weeks, and often in the weeks immediately leading up to a race.  But I struggle to string these bursts of enthusiasm together for a long-view approach to training.  I know it’s important, but it’s easy to find an excuse when there’s no immanent feedback.  But it takes weeks for fitness to build.

Fit, healthy people rise with the sun – If there’s one habit I could make myself change, this would be it.  I love sleep way too much, and I hate getting out of the bed in the morning.  But I know I train better in the morning – and in fact, I have more energy and a more positive life outlook when I get my ass out of bed.  Somehow, that always seems negotiable while I’m still under the covers.

Fit, healthy people treat themselves – Okay, I’m actually really good at treating myself (and feel really guilty when I do it).  The trick here is to treat myself less often, and feel less guilty when I do.  Make it an actual treat for hitting a goal, and be proud of the goal and enjoy the treat.  Then get back at it (see: “Fit, healthy people have grit”).

I’m going to print this article and post it up on my fridge as a focus reminder to help me hit my goals this year.  It would be nice to weigh less, and to race faster, but more than anything, I really want to be fit and healthy for the long term.  And these are some great habits to focus on!

-DO’G

  1. January 27, 2015 at 1:24 pm

    The one thing you don’t mention is that you are not one or the other, instead you have to strive and work to build the consitency to push past those 4-6 week periods. Set goals and plan how to get to those goals on a macro level. When you don’t feel like doing a workout, do it, aobut half way through you will realize you are enjoying yourself. Overall have fun and keep working towards those goals, you can change the type of person you are.

    • January 27, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      Thanks Chatter – I completely agree. Fitness is on a continuum (as is consistency), and we’re at all times at varying points on this continuum. There is no absolute “fit” or “not fit” (or “consistent” or “not consistent”). We keep building and improving upon them gradually until they become second nature

  2. January 28, 2015 at 6:51 pm

    It’s all about discipline! Once you start and commit you’ll have no problem! 😉 I’m a fitness blogger too, great post! 🙂 x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

