Home > Fun, Mailing In a Post > It’s been a while

It’s been a while

looking back

I haven’t posted here since the end of July, huh?  Sadly, that sounds about right.  Life’s taken me a lot of great places these past two months, but sadly, few of them have involved any form of training (or exercise in general, to be honest).  I think the break has been really good for me, mentally.  It’s allowed me to focus on building other facets of my life – I had a wonderful 2 week vacation out east with my wife (4 provinces, 4 states, 3 breweries visited, and 1 wrecked tent – a great road trip), and started an amazing new job.  But it’s also really reminded me how much I miss training.  I miss having the goal of a race to work towards.  The motivation.  The challenge.  The reason to get my ass out of bed at 5:00am each morning (which I’ve been terrible about doing lately)!  For all the adventure in my life these past few weeks, that’s the stability I’m missing.

I’ve decided I need to sign up for another race (because, well, that’s what I do).  I really wanted to get in on the Scotiabank Toronto Half Marathon in a few weeks, but I’ve recently decided – given that I haven’t done a run longer than 10k in nearly 18 months – that it’s probably too short a timeline to train up for a Half Marathon so soon.  Although just barely 😉  And with the winter coming up fast and furious, there are few races in the next few months that are jumping off the page at me.  Which means I’m looking at something a bit further in the distance – and if I’m doing that… I might as well aim big

I’d say this is somewhere between confirmed committment (largely because registration hasn’t opened yet) and a seriously percolating idea.  But really, why not?  I could use a good kick-in-the-ass to get myself back in the gym!

kickintheass

Glad to be back to blogging.  Looking forward to getting back into training.  Happy to have a goal to work towards again!  Happy to have the stability back in my life!

~DO’G

  1. October 2, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    Impressed I am!!

  2. October 3, 2014 at 8:41 am

    That is a very ambitious but doable goal. Glad to hear you are still out there and that things are going well for you. I tried incorporating an off season, but could not imagine living without a race, just too hard.

  3. October 5, 2014 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks so much for your post. It definitely spoke to me because when I looked at my own blog, I had not posted since July either and have done absolutely minimal training! So I paid my dollar (to my savings jar) and the swift kick propelled me out the door this morning so when I saw your post, I smiled! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

