Home > Fun, Mailing In a Post, Races, Recap, Tri Posts > Race Recap: Niagara Try-a-Tri

Race Recap: Niagara Try-a-Tri

10430431_10154431489365319_8659819653427283812_nI have no idea why I’m making a peace sign… or why I’m so hunched over…

Yesterday I raced in the Niagara Try-a-Tri race, my first Try-a-tri distance triathlon.  It was a lot of fun – a great day (albeit stinkin’ hot), great friends, great venue.  Yep, I would do that again in a heartbeat.

I had a chance to race with two good buddies of mine – we go all the way back to high school, but live in different cities now, so the reunion was a nice incentive too.  Plus, they’ve now joined the ranks of triathlon finishers – which is amazing!  Here’s hoping to get them out to many more races going forward!  We also had a nice cheering section of family and friends.  What a great day!

How did my race go?

The Swim – 375m – 7:09

The water was about as warm as could be while still being “wetsuit encouraged”.  Compared to other swims I’ve done recently, it was like swimming in a bath.  The sun was shining, the water was calm, and relative to Sprint and Olympic distance swims, 375m wasn’t that far at all.  I positioned myself in the front row middle of the starting pack and went all out.  This was about as smooth sailing as it could have been.

The Bike – 10km – 21:43

The bike felt great.  It was pretty flat, uneventful, and I was able to tuck into the aero bars and giv’er.  On the return half, there was a strong headwind I wasn’t expecting, but nothing unmanageable.  It felt really good, but I’m not sure the time reflects that.  I was hoping for closer to 20 minutes.  Was I being lazy?  Was I not in the best gear?  I’m a bit perplexed here – although a perfectly respectable time for my current fitness level, I thought I could do a bit better.  Oh well – that’s what the off season is for

The Run – 2.5km – 18:14

God I suck at running.  Seriously!  I was hoping to run closer to 15 minutes, perhaps optimistically.  I’m not at all happy with this result (but I’m also really not surprised).  My legs felt good off the bike, but my HR was way out of control.  Which is the exact same thing I felt in my last race 2 weeks ago.  My fitness has fallen off a bit as the summer has gone on (and I haven’t kept up with my training), and possibly wasn’t where I wanted it to be to start with.  Let this be motivation for me this off season – next summer I want to run better off the bike!

Overall 50:31.9.  I was predicting I would finish between 45 and 50 minutes – so a bit slow, but not terribly.  Considering this was a last minute entry for a race to join up with some old friends, my time wasn’t so slow such as to take away from a great day.

The Recovery

The 1:00pm race start time has really made a mess of my recovery.  I’ve become very used to the morning race, afternoon nap routine.  The afternoon race, evening nap routine doesn’t work nearly as well (which leads to a shitty night’s sleep, and a very tired Dave the next day).  I’m a lot more tired today than I was expecting after a try-a-tri distance race, on which I blame this crappy, short, race recap post.  It’s going to be nap time as soon as this working day is done!

How was your weekend?  Any good races or training runs?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

