Home > Fun, Races, Tri Posts > Race Season is Fast Approaching!

Race Season is Fast Approaching!

Only 5 more sleeps until my first triathlon of 2014.  I’m surprisingly nervous.  It’s not like this is my first time at the rodeo – I’ve got a half dozen triathlons under my belt from prior summers.  It’s not even like this is my first time at this distance – I did my first Olympic distance race last September.

But it’s my first tri of this season – after a long (very long!) winter, I can’t help but feel a bit rusty.  Am I ready?  I had 8 months during the off season to train, did I train enough?  I certainly wasn’t perfectly focused, was I focused enough?  That run doesn’t feel any easier than it did last fall.  But my times are getting faster, even if I huff and puff just as much.

easier faster

Or maybe it’s not nervous?  Maybe it’s antsy?  Maybe it’s 8 long months of telling myself that all those cold mornings at the gym, all those hill sprints (or, the one or two that I did at least), all those long runs were for something – were building towards something.  And that something is finally here.  And even if this isn’t my “A” race of the season, it’s a race.  It’s a chance to get out and do what I love.  This is what I’ve been working for!  Maybe it’s excitement!  Race season is finally here!!

…So here I go it’s my shot.
Feet, fail me not, this may be the only opportunity that I got…

Ready.  To.  Go!

That’s my pre-race Jam!  What’s yours?

  1. June 16, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    I feel for you, my first of the season is the same day. Unlike you I was unable to complete my first Olympic last year due to three blown tubes. I know I can do the distance though and I cannot wait for Saturday to get here! Good luck and make sure to have fun.

    • June 17, 2014 at 7:30 am

      Thanks buddy – and I know you’ll do well at your race too! Cheering for ya!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

