Home > Consistency, Fun, Recap > Week/Month In Review

Week/Month In Review

badtriThis may or may not end up being a recurring feature on this blog, largely dependent on how busy lazy I am on Sundays.  We’ll give it a try for a bit and see how it goes.

Looking Back:

I’m killing two birds with one stone here, looking back on the past week, and on the Month of May all in one post.  Efficiency!

May 2014:

MIR 1405

(“Sport” is a combination of softball and beach volleyball, or any other team sport I may get myself talked into.  Not “training” per se, but part of the general contribution to how tired I feel in any given week/month)

Last week (May 26th 2014 – June 1st 2014):

WIR 140601

(I did 25 minutes of hill repeats last week.  I didn’t bother to measure how long the hill section was that I did, but I did 6x run up/walk down the garbage toboggan hill at McLennan Park.  So that was that)

Not my best week/month, but certainly not my worst.  I feel like winter is finally behind us, and I’m so much more inclined to get out and train.  And to get outside and train!  Cycling has certainly ramped up over the past two week, due in part to commute cycling.  The swimming and strength numbers look kinda ugly (particularly last week, where they were non existent).  But holy shit – nearly 400km of cycling in May!!  And almost half of that last week alone!! Damn!!!

Looking Forward:

ride alarm

My ability to get my ass out of bed and train in the morning before work is really what’s going to make or break my training season (and possibly make or break me in the process).  I hate waking up in the morning.  I feel like a fail as a triathlete because I’m not jumping out of bed at 5:15 every morning, pounding a protein shake and a coffee and putting in 100km before going to work.  Isn’t that the stereotype?  I seriously love sleeping in!  But the work doesn’t get done if I don’t get my ass up!  It’s true.  Trying to do everything at lunch or after work – life gets in the way.

This morning I got out of bed and did 1,500m in the pool.  An easy swim, but the real victory is in the routine!  Tomorrow morning I’m getting up again and swimming 2,500m.  And Wednesday I’m getting up and hitting the weights.  Every.  Day.  That’s the goal for this week.  Every.  Day.

5 Things I Think I Think:

bike commute

  1. I think I’m really enjoying my bike commute to/from work.  The commuter bike kicks the shit out of my quads (that thing is so old, and heavy, and stiff), but it’s so much nicer riding home from work through the park than being stuck in traffic.
  2. I think I continue to be amazed by the differences between my commuter bike and my road bike.  I’ve been alternating between the two riding to/from softball, depending on if I want to ride in traffic, or on the park paths.  The trip by road is a hair longer, but takes me 2/3rds the time.  And my body is almost more comfortable now in the aggressive road bike position than on a very casual hybrid bike.
  3. Sports Geek: That Blue Jays 9 game winning streak was amazing!  But it wouldn’t last forever, and I’m kinda glad it did end.  A baseball season is a marathon, not a sprint.  Just keep winning series’ boys.  Can’t wait to see how they stack up against Detroit this week.  Go Jays!!
  4. Beer Geek: Had a lovely Hop House Belgian style Pale Ale by Ommegang Brewery this weekend.  That was quite the treat!  I’ve really come to love Belgian style beers lately, but haven’t had many with a strong hop component without losing the typical qualities of a Belgian ale.  This one was very well done.  Ommegang can pretty much do no wrong in my books at this point!
  5. I think I love the way swim training exhausts me in a completely different way than run training or bike training.  Swimming is so peaceful and so killer at the same time.  Love it!

Do you prefer to train/work out in the morning?  Or in the evening?

  1. June 2, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    I’m right there with you about mornings. Some of the girls on my team are like that. I’d love to be able to get out of bed at 5:15 in the morning and be ready to go, but it just doesn’t happen. Not a morning person so most of my training takes place in the evenings or whenever I can sneak away during the day.

  2. June 3, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    Morning!!! Or sometimes i cannot get motivated to go. Besides, it kicks in all of those happy endorphins!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

