Home > Consistency, Fun, Mailing In a Post, Tri Posts > Friday Stray Thoughts

Friday Stray Thoughts

FridayImage by Glenn McCoy

Happy Friday everyone!  For those of you looking for a little light lunchtime internet distraction to tide you over until quitting time, here’s a few Stray Thoughts for your Friday Afternoon

– – – – –

With apologies to those who follow me on Facebook (and who’ve already seen me link this) – here the latest cartoon from The Oatmeal.  Seriously – maybe the funniest stuff online.  Go read their website, and buy all their stuff (if my budget wasn’t so tight, I sure would… hmmm… if only I had a birthday coming up…)

Sorry – I digress.  Their latest cartoon, which actually has some relevance to learning to get off the couch and into shape.  And it’s kick-ass funny:

http://theoatmeal.com/comics/what_you_see

– – – – –

RedshiftBars

I’m now a few weeks into riding my bike semi-reliably to work.  And I’m realizing how different my racing bike is from The Iron Pig that I ride to work.  My commuter bike is HEAVY.  It’s old, and the derailleurs don’t really want to shift when I ask them to.  It seems the more I ride it – even predominantly downhill rides – my thighs are KILLING me by the end.  It is the ultimate pedal-mashing experience.  It really makes me long for my racing bike.  But, on the plus side, I’m going to have the strongest legs I’ve ever had by then end of this summer!!

(and apparently I need to get a better picture of my racing bike… Bad Blogger Dave!!)

 

– – – – –

weather140516

This past week has been an utter shit show for me.  Extreme emotional highs and extreme emotional lows.  I feel like I’ve been all over the place.  Where I haven’t been, though, is training.  I’ve allowed myself a bit of an excuse of post-race recovery, but really, 4 days is too long of recovery for a 10k run.  It’s time to get back to work.  And I’m really excited to get back into a training groove.  With this past weekend’s race now in the rear view mirror, I feel like it’s finally triathlon season!  Now if only we could get some consistently nice weather to work with!  C’mon Summer!!

– – – – –

Have a great weekend everybody!  Good Luck to everyone racing or training this weekend!!!  A special shout out to Brittany from The Fit Formula who’s taking on her first Ironman at IMTX this weekend!  You got this!!

  1. May 16, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    Thank you so much Dave! I really appreciate it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

