Home > Consistency, Fun, Tri Posts > (Last) Week In Review

(Last) Week In Review

badtriThis may or may not end up being a recurring feature on this blog, largely dependent on how busy lazy I am on Sundays.  We’ll give it a try for a bit and see how it goes.

Looking Back:

WIR 140323

Prior to last week, I found myself in an unexpected 2.5 week break from training.  This week I’m simply glad to be back at it.  I’ve had a few victories this week – I’m 3lbs closer to my race weight goal (though that could be in part due to the less-than-accurate-lately scale I’m using at the YMCA…), and I managed my first long run longer than 10km in almost a year.

Hopefully now that I’m back into a training routine, I can also get back into a blog writing routine.  As goes one, so goes the other, oddly enough…

Looking Forward:

This week is so important to my training – this week is my chance to prove that I’m back into a training routine, and build off of last week’s results.  My goal is to replicate last week’s volume, while stretching out my long run an extra 2km (per my training plan), and introducing some strength training back into my routine.

5 Things I Think I Think:

  1. I think I’m nervous about the Half Marathon I’m planning (but haven’t signed up for yet) at the end of April.  I have run a Half before (and have also run a 30km race before).  But prior to this week I had let myself cap my long runs at 10km.  I think training to run longer than 10km is a psychological barrier as much as a physical barrier.  It’s about convincing yourself that you can keep going.  I think I really enjoy breaking that barrier.  But I also think I have a lot of work to do to be ready for a Half in 5 short weeks
  2. I think the 35 minute run I went for yesterday was my best run of the year!  The sun was shining, the sidewalks were dry.  And I ran pretty darn fast, by my standards.  It was nice to run outside – off the treadmill – where I didn’t have to watch for ice under foot at each step.
  3. I think it would be nice if pools were open for lane swimming at more times that gave me more options in my training plan – particularly options that didn’t require me to wake up at 5:00am.  The alternative is to swim after 9:30pm.  Yuck!  That’s bedtime (I know!  I’m old!)  Everything in between is booked for swimming lessons, etc.  I understand the need to offer family programming at family friendly hours, but the selfish side of me would love to not have to choose between swim training and sleeping in!  Can’t I have both?
  4. Sports Nerdness: I think I’m really excited about the Blue Jays season this year, even though all the media analysts are predicting doom and gloom.  Sure, a lot of things will have to break right for this team to do well, but the point of being a sports fan is to be unrealistically optimistic about your team, especially before the season starts!  We’ve got it this year boys!  Let’s Go Blue Jays!!
  5. I think the wine bottle buried in the snow in our backyard is finally starting to peak through.  Spring will come.  The snow will melt.  I will get to ride outside soon enough…
bottle top 140323

See the tiny spot in the center of the picture? That’s the mouth of a wine bottle, standing upright, buried in the snow. It’s starting to emerge! Spring is Coming!!

Is it still winter outside where you live?  Or is it spring there yet?

  1. WalkToRio
    March 25, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    I once (last year) tried to get into swimming, but was faced with the same issue, waking up at 5am to use the swimming pool. Wasn’t an option, unlike running, when I’m done swimming I’m too sleepy and drained of my will to live, too much torture to go through that early in the morning.
    Here(Seville) we went from Winter to Summer, but it’s starting to get cooler again, but not as cold as you people from the north.

    • March 25, 2014 at 1:58 pm

      Interesting experience! For me, getting out of bed is the challenge. Once I’m up and at the gym, it doesn’t matter what activity I do. And in truth, I really like morning workouts – they give me more energy for the day. But when I’m lying in bed and that alarm goes off I seem to have a lot of trouble remembering that. All I can think of is how much I’d like to stay in bed longer 🙂

  2. March 27, 2014 at 1:48 pm

    Way to get back at it. It was spring here for a dy or two then winter showed right back up and now its cold again. Ready for the warm weather and humidity to get here. You will do fine in your half marathon, if you have to try a series of run/walk breaks, they do wonders for recovery and control during a run.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

