Home > Consistency, Fun, Tri Posts > Week In Review

Week In Review

February 9, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

badtriThis may or may not end up being a recurring feature on this blog, largely dependent on how busy lazy I am on Sundays.  We’ll give it a try for a bit and see how it goes.

Looking Back:

WIR 140209

I’m just going to take a mulligan on this past week.  Moving on…

Looking Forward:

In a year where consistency is one of my themes, this past week was a big stumble.  It happens – looking forward, not looking back.  This week is about proving to myself that last week was a blip, and that I can get right back on the saddle and be consistent again.

5 Things I Think I Think:

SimpsonsCanada

  1. I think I’m watching figure skating a lot more than I expected I would.
  2. I think I’m enjoying watching figure skating a lot more than I expected I would.
  3. I think, since I’ve started doing triathlons, I’ve developed a better appreciation for the sport of biathlon.  It’s all about heart rate management.  I was watching them in awe yesterday – how high their heart rate must get while cross country skiing, and then being able to slow it down enough to steady a rifle.  I wish I could manage my heart rate like that!
  4. I think my favorite sport though is still the skeleton.  It reminds me of tobogganing on crazy carpets as a kid.  But faster!  That looks like so much fun!
  5. I think I’ve spent way too much time awake this weekend between the hours of 1:00am and 6:00am, watching Olympics live when I should be sleeping instead.  This better not continue once the work week starts, or I’m going to be in trouble.

If you were to take up a winter Olympics sport, what would you choose?

  1. WalkToRio
    February 9, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    I’ve been watching way too much figure skating this weekend too.
    I would definitely try luge or skeleton. But the idea of doing cross country skiing and speed skating seduce me a lot.

    • February 9, 2014 at 4:40 pm

      speed skating would be a lot of fun too, I agree!!

  2. sweatingforit
    February 9, 2014 at 6:20 pm

    I’m pretty scared of snow and ice so training for a winter sport would be no good for me. I like watching whatever sport is on though!

  3. February 10, 2014 at 11:28 am

    I am not excited by the build up to the Olympics, but when I see that Canadian flag I can’t help but get in the spirit.

    Moguls; the coolest sport in the Winter Olympics, ever.

  4. February 11, 2014 at 9:28 am

    I watch as much Olympics as possible, such an addict. To get in the spirit of the winter olympics Georgia went from 40/60 degrees Sochi like weather and now we are getting buckets of snow. Unlike last snow fall a couple of weeks ago, I am not running in this one. Two half marathons in six days means I need to not injure myself on the snow and ice. Keep plugging away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

