Home > Fun, Mailing In a Post, Tri Posts > Is It Snowing Out There (or am I just lazy)?

Is It Snowing Out There (or am I just lazy)?

February 5, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments
backyard140205

My backyard. You can barely see the chairs and table, and wouldn’t know the BBQ was fully shoveled out and used just a few days ago.  There’s an empty wine bottle somewhere in the middle of the yard as a snow barometer… we won’t see it again for another month I figure, at least

I feel like I’m being lazy.  Am I being lazy?!?

This week is supposed to be Week 1 of my new training plan – 19 weeks out from my semi-planned-but-not-yet-registered first race of the season, the Muskoka 5150.  The plan is 18 weeks long, so starting it 19 weeks out is ideal for me – it allows for a do-over week at some point in the program if real life gets in the way.

I didn’t exactly expect my do-over to come in Week 1…

Monday was good.  Monday was an hour of resistance training before work (and a really good hour at that), followed by 20k of intervals on the bike after work.  I pushed hard on Monday.  Monday was good.

Tuesday was a flop because Monday was too good.  Tuesday morning my body reminded me of how hard I pushed on Monday.  My alarm went off at 5:15, I sat up in bed, and immediately knew I wasn’t going for my scheduled swim.  Fuck.  No.  I decided an extra hour of sleep and recovery would do me more good than the swim… but instead I accidentally slept an extra 2.5 hours and was late getting to work (thus late getting out of work, thus I also missed my scheduled run after work.  sigh).

Which brings us to today.  Wednesday.  Where yet again mother nature has dropped a metric fucktonne of snow on us!  I’m seriously done with this winter.  I worked from home today – which seemed a much better idea than braving the bus system.  On dry roads, my daily commute takes me 75-90 minutes each way.  I didn’t have the patience to deal with the bus and the snowy roads this morning.  Which means I missed my morning swim again this morning.

So now my work day is done.  I’m at home.  There’s several feet of snow on the ground (and neither roads nor sidewalks in my neighborhood have been plowed yet… apparently we’re at the bottom of the pecking order).  I supposed I could venture out into the unplowed roads to go to the gym.  Or I could stay home, pull up online yoga videos and cut my losses (shout out to Fit for 365 for pointing me to this series of DoYouYoga videos back in September – seriously recommend them to anyone who’s into free at home yoga).

Am I being lazy?  I feel like there’s some expectation of a triathlete (even a beginner, amature triathlete like myself) that we persevere and overcome all obstacles to make our training schedule.  Am I really going to miss my 4th training session in 2 days?  And does it really matter in the long run?

Or maybe I’m over thinking the whole thing.  I think I’ve just been cooped up for too long and need a break from this winter.

If you could go on a vacation anywhere in the world, right now, without worry about ‘grown up responsibilities’ like cost or your work schedule, where would you go?

  1. February 5, 2014 at 9:12 pm

    Hey, I reckon a ‘fucktonne’ of snow gives anyone a day (or in Canada, a couple of days) pass.

    The first week is the toughest. Hang in there brother. The pain today makes you better tomorrow.

    • February 6, 2014 at 8:40 am

      Cheers buddy! Made it in to the gym this morning. The roads weren’t plowed so much as packed down, but it worked. Keep moving forward!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

