Home > Consistency, Fun, Power, Tri Posts > Week In Review

Week In Review

January 26, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

badtriThis may or may not end up being a recurring feature on this blog, largely dependent on how busy lazy I am on Sundays.  We’ll give it a try for a bit and see how it goes.

Looking Back:

WIR 140126

This week was my Grind Week (a term I’ve just come up with over the course of this week) – the week immediately preceding a planned recovery week, where you’re at the furthest point from your last recovery week: you’re mentally and physically tired, and trying to push yourself to get through the week without taking it easy, knowing next week you’ll get some reprieve.

I think I did well.  I added a pair of 2-a-day workouts – my first of 2014 – and managed to keep pushing hard throughout the week.  My focus is still on base work and drills as opposed to speed work.  The speed will come (I keep telling myself)… just stick to the plan…

Looking Forward:

Next week is a planned recovery week.  And I’ve earned it.  In fact, I think this is the first ever recovery week I’ve ever planned into a training session where I truly feel I’ve earned a recovery week (and where I haven’t just slacked off during previous training weeks).  My goal is not to reduce the frequency of training this week – I’m in a good place as far as my morning routine, and don’t want to change that – but to reduce the intensity of sessions.  I’m not really sure what that’ll look like in practice yet.  Anyone have any suggestions of how they handle recovery weeks?

5 Things I Think I Think:

  1. I think taking Friday off work as a “Me Day” was a brilliant decision.  Clearing my schedule at work was a bit tricky, but well worth it.  I find self care days extra important during the shorter colder winter days.
  2. I think I’m tired of this cold weather.  Our house is very drafty, and the heat doesn’t hold up well when the temperature outside drops below -10°C (which seems to be always this winter).  I’m tired of being cold.  It’s starting to really wear on my mood.  I think I’m ready for summer now!
  3. I think that 2-a-day training sessions aren’t as hard as I remember them being.  Going back to the gym after work isn’t so bad.  Getting up in the morning is still the worst part.  It seems that I’m always exhausted and struggle to get out of bed for my morning session, irrespective of if I do an additional evening session or not.
  4. I think we’re entering the dark month for a sports fan like myself.  Football is over, and baseball doesn’t start up for a few more months.  Yeah, there’s hockey and basketball going on – apparently – and I may pay attention from time to time.  But we’re a good 6-8 weeks away from anything exciting happening.  I gotta find something else to pay attention to in the meantime.
  5. I think the best decision I made this week was to spend a pair of evenings sampling craft beers with my wife and some amazing friends of ours.  Even if it did mean two straight nights of a bazillion calories.  I know there’s a huge nutrition component to training (which I’m terrible at – mostly because I tend to abandon healthy eating on weekends), but there’s a balance between training hard and maintaining a life outside of training.  People talk about work/life balance.  The added dimension of work/life/training balance makes it even trickier.  I think for me it’s still a work in progress.

That’s my week in a nutshell.  How was your week?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

