Home > Fun, Tri Posts > What’s on YOUR iPod?

What’s on YOUR iPod?

January 22, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

My cousin sent me a text this morning: “I found a song that is exactly the beat that I run and I love the song too: Unbelievers, by Vampire Weekend”.  For those of you (like me, until a few minutes ago) who don’t know this song:

Great song (which I had heard before, just never caught the name of).  It does have a great beat for running.  And it’s reminded me to write a post I’ve been meaning to write for a while now… uh… this one…

What’s on YOUR iPod?

See, it’s shitty cold here these days, and I really don’t want to run outside.  So I’m stuck on the treadmill.  Which means I’m super dependent on the tunes in my pocket to get me through my run (then again, I’m super dependent on tunes pretty much all the time).  There’s currently 908 songs on my phone – rock, country, hip hop, musicals… all kinds of things.  I have songs for every mood.  But only the right songs get me through those 6:00am treadmill sessions.

People choose music for working out based on a variety of factors – some like a particular tempo, others like lyrically inspiring songs.  Others just want something they grew up with.  My wife listens to podcasts when she runs… I need something with energy!

I have two playlists I use for training.  One has about 150 songs in it, with a mix of all the reasons for inclusion above.  I throw that list on random each session and get a different mix each time.  The other I call my ‘Race Day’ mix.  This is the cream of the crop folks – 6 songs to get me fired up once my bike is set up in the transition area and I’m pacing around trying to stay lose:

Because seriously – what ‘get pumped’ playlist doesn’t have this song?!

Too cliche?  Too bad!

Shout out to my brother-in-law for introducing me to this one.  It’s the lyrics.  It’s the beat.  It’s the whole package!

My brother-in-law introduced me to this one too.  It helps to have people who follow new music more than I do (otherwise I’d still be listening to Eye of the Tiger)

I grew up with this movie.  It’s The Shit!  This whole soundtrack gets me going, but this song is King!

Honestly, apart from my love for this band, and my love for anything 90’s rock, this song has the perfect beat for running.  I can’t stop air drumming, even on the treadmill (I must look like an idiot at the gym.  m’ohwell).

So there you go folks.  I’m nothing without my tunes, and those are my tunes!  But I’m always looking for new material.  So I’d love to hear your suggestions – any genre, any reason:

What’s on YOUR iPod?

  1. JD Blom
    January 23, 2014 at 8:40 am

    I dial up some POD and RED to get through the dreadmill and cycling trainer.

    • January 23, 2014 at 8:58 am

      I’ll have to check those out!

  2. WalkToRio
    January 23, 2014 at 9:50 am

    I have a song on my iPod that get’s me going.
    This one:

  3. January 23, 2014 at 10:34 am

    These are my NO WALK songs. No matter how tired I am or how much something hurts I try to push myself through these songs:
    Kansas – Carry On Wayward son
    Young the Giant – My Body
    Enrique Iglesias – I Like It
    Daft Punk – Get Lucky
    Kelli Clarkston – Stronger (Even Kanye’s song by the same name)
    Metric – Help I’m Alive
    Ram Jam – Black Betty
    Nico Vega – So So Fresh
    Great Gastby Soundtrack – A Little Party Never Hurt Nobody
    Coheed and Cambria – Running Free, Feathers, No World for Tomorrow, Ten Speed
    Robin Thicke – Blurred Lines
    Fall Out Boy – Any of their songs

    • January 23, 2014 at 10:36 am

      Great list. I have a lot of those in my larger workout list too: Young the Giant, Daft Punk, Kelli Clarkson, Metric, Ram Jam, and lots of Fall Out Boy. Love that you have Kansas in there too – that’s fantastic!!

      • January 23, 2014 at 10:40 am

        Honestly, I think I watched too much Supernatural for awhile as it was their opening song for a couple season, but then it’s also a GREAT song! I don’t have a short list for races but I think I may start implementing that.

  4. sweatingforit
    January 23, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    I know this is weird but I don’t listen to music while I run, swim, bike outside, or am at the gym. So that pretty much leaves the trainer. And I listen to podcasts: Ben Greenfield, America’s Angriest Trainer, Ironman Year One and Fit Fat Fast.

    • January 23, 2014 at 4:08 pm

      podcasts are good too – something to help keep your mind off the monotony of the machine. I agree – less important when training outside!

  5. January 23, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    Dude, I dig Vampire Weekend, although I have never ran to any of their tunes.

    I usually listen to Tame Impala, Hot Chip, and Arctic Monkeys when I am training. When hanging out before a race, something mellow like The National or Arcade Fire helps me relax and focus.

    Music is powerful stuff. Great post brother.

    • January 23, 2014 at 4:09 pm

      Arctic Monkeys would be an interesting one. I can see that working well! Sounds like you’re the opposite of me: I want fast and energetic before a race where you want mellow and relaxing. Very interesting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

