Home > Fun > Blue Monday

Blue Monday

January 20, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

blue

Today is Blue Monday, the pseudo-science crap “scientifically” determined to be the most depressing day of the year!  Seriously – check out the calculation formula on the Wikipedia link above.  C R A P!

That being said – even if completely unscientifically founded – there seems to be something to it.  The days are still short, the weather is still cold, and I sure as shit didn’t want to get out of bed this morning for a training session.  I did… but I didn’t want to!  And it was a slug of a session at that.  My legs were screaming at me.  But I did it.

Apparently, this is the third year in a row I’ve written a post on Blue Monday about it being Blue Monday.  You can see people dragging their heels this time of year.  Very few people have a jump to their step – that’s so sad.  I think it’s sad.

So I’d like to ask you (those of you reading this, at least) to do something fun today.  Do something silly!  Do something energizing!  Do something inspiring!  Do something to break out of your routine!!  Do something to make other people happy!  Do something to prove that Blue Monday isn’t science – it’s crap.  Today is a bright, sunny, (cold) day!  Make it a great day!!  Let’s celebrate Blue Monday!!

bright day

What will you do to celebrate Blue Monday?

  1. January 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    I tried some new drills in swim training, some a success other more like uncoordinated drowsing.

  2. sweatingforit
    January 20, 2014 at 10:33 pm

    I had the day off of school. Stayed in my pajamas and never left the house. It was amazingly restful.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

