Home > Consistency, Tri Posts > Monday Morning… or Why Last Week Was Pretty Awesome!

Monday Morning… or Why Last Week Was Pretty Awesome!

January 13, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

ride alarm

Holy crap I’m tired this morning.  It is a miracle that I got out of bed at 5:15 and got my work out in as planned #WIN.  But I’m dragging my heels a bit now.  I really hate Monday Mornings!!

I was thinking about yesterday’s Week in Review post (no you’re posting a link to your own previous blog post!) in which I completed roughly 4.5 hours of training.  That didn’t seem like a very large number to me, to be honest.  It was a whole week of work – it must have been more than that!

It felt like I did a hell of a lot more than 4.5 hours though.

But then I looked back a little bit more at my weekly training stats from 2013 (thank you BeginnerTriathlete.com for being so awesome in helping me with these numbers).  4.5hrs/week is a little low compared to January/February/March of last year, when I was training for my first half marathon, and subsequent 30km running race.  But once we got into Triathlon season my weekly effort went way down.  In fact, excluding race weeks, 4.5hrs in a single week is the most overall volume I’ve put into any single week since May 2013.

So that’s why I feel so damn tired this morning.  Even if it’s not as much training as I want to do – and should be doing – it’s a hell of a lot more than my body is used to doing.

Comparing myself to some ideal is not a useful exercise.  Comparing myself to the training schedules I read in books, or on other tri blogs is equally useless.  Much like I need to race my own race, I need to train at my own pace.  So I’m going to stop beating myself up thinking I should be doing more, but focus on the positives of what I did achieve.  I had my best training week in over 8 months!  That’s something to celebrate!

And I think I’ll celebrate it with a nap when I get home from work.  Stupid Mondays!!!

-DO’G

  1. January 14, 2014 at 2:22 pm

    I thought keeping a bit of workouts going for November and December would make it easy to ramp up again, not. I went from 6 hours of mostly running to 8-11 hours of swim, bike and allot of run. And I am tired and worn out. So I am right there with you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

