Home > Consistency, Tri Posts > Week In Review

Week In Review

January 12, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

badtriThis may or may not end up being a recurring feature on this blog, largely dependent on how busy lazy I am on Sundays.  We’ll give it a try for a bit and see how it goes.

Looking Back

WIR 140112

I felt good this week.  I didn’t fully hit all my sessions from my schedule – I missed one strength session mid week due to a scheduling mix up (I really need to remember: choosing to sleep in and go in the evening instead NEVER works out!!).  I also planned to get a swim in this morning – I was changed and everything – but my goggle snap strapped.  So no swim for me.  I’ve already picked up a new pair of goggles so I’m ready to go for next week!

Looking Forward

Nothing exciting (training wise) on the docket for next week.  Keep on keeping on.  Consistency is, again, my focus.  I don’t have any rest days planned this week (though Friday is scheduled as an easy 1000m swim only).  Really trying to cement the routine: keep pushing the frequency to where I want it, and keeping the intensity manageable.

Thoughts From This Week That I Think I Think

  1. I need to keep working on pacing in my runs.  I’m not good at it.  I’m really prone to starting out way too fast on my long runs – sometimes even faster than 5km pace and slowing way down in the second half of my run.  Need to keep working on consistency.  I think this week I want to focus on negative splits on my runs.
  2. My local YMCA seriously needs some new stationary bikes (either that, or the snow here has to hurry up and melt so I can get my bike back on the road)!  Its incredible how quickly my ass hurts sitting on those damn saddles – even in fully padded cycling shorts.  On the plus side, they all have power meters built in, so the training data I get form them is actually quite good… for stationary bikes that is.  But it’s going to be a long winter doing my bike training on those seats…
  3. Today was New Shoe Day!!!  I love New Shoe Day.  I picked up a pair of Asics GT-2000 this year.  Haven’t had a chance to use them yet.  Maybe I’ll do a review once I’ve worn them a few times… if I think about it.  My Mizunos are now being downgraded from racing/training shoe to general walking around the town shoe.  They did me well – having been laced up for a run 99 times, and having logged 668.47kms.  At my body weight, they’ve done their job well but it’s time for a changing of the guard.

Thoughts From This Week That Have Nothing To Do With Triathlon

  1. Good try Saints.  That was a tough Seahawks team you had to face last night, in crappy weather.  Still a proud fan.  #WhoDat!
  2. Finally watched Despicable Me this week.  Highly entertained.  Will have to watch the sequel at some point… probably when it comes out on Netflicks.  Also need to make sure Date Night with my wife happens more often.  Even if training is ramping up, can’t lose sight of the priorities in life.  It’s a tricky juggling act sometimes…
  3. Speaking of my wife, apparently our cat knows when she’s trying to get schoolwork done.  That’s how Sundays roll around here 🙂

lapcatThat’s my week in a nutshell.  How was your week?

  1. January 13, 2014 at 7:36 am

    On long runs I have abandoned doing anything but getting it done. That is just me. Love the goal reviews and following week idea. Good luck not dying of boredom on the indoor trainer.

  1. January 13, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

