Home > Consistency, Tri Posts > Week In Review

Week In Review

badtriThis may or may not end up being a recurring feature on this blog, largely dependent on how busy lazy I am on Sundays.  We’ll give it a try for a bit and see how it goes.

Looking Back

WIR 140105

It was a short week.  It started in Edmonton, included a head cold, a late night flight back home and a New Years celebration (and recovery).  But once 2014 started in earnest I was happy with the results.  It’s been hard work getting back into routine – my cardio is shot.  But I hit all 3 sessions as planned, even if belabored, so I’m happy with it.

Looking Forward

Keep on keeping on, I guess.  Nothing exciting planned for next week.  My goal is to maintain consistency into the first full week of 2014.  Friday is a rest day – every other day has a training session planed.  Let’s try to go 6 for 6.

Thoughts From This Week That I Think I Think

  1. My training is sluggish right now.  Maybe it’s the extra 6lbs from the holidays, or maybe it’s the time off from the holidays (or maybe it’s both… probably it’s both).  I’m amazed how hard it is to do what I could do so much easier a few weeks ago.
  2. I have such mixed feelings about outdoor winter running.  I think I’m much more okay with a treadmill than most runners claim to be.  Outside is cold, the wind can be sharp, and the ground can be slippery.  Treadmill running is much more pleasant.  That being said, there’s something about the sunshine that can really make running outside a winner.
  3. Rev3 looks like they’ve added a new race for 2014 in West Virginia on August 3rd.  Rev3 is a race organization I have my eye on – I really like their philosophy towards age groupers.  And this one is only a 6hr drive from home.  A serious consideration for a destination race this year

Thoughts From This Week That Have Nothing To Do With Triathlon

  1. Flying with a head cold is no joke.  Seriously!  There’s this thing called Airplane Ear, where you can’t clear the pressure from your sinuses on descent.  I had my first experience with that this week.  Holy shit that hurt.  Here’s hoping I don’t ever have to fly with a cold again!
  2. #WhoDat!!!  Great win by The Saints last night.  Next week in Seattle is going to be tough, but I’ll be watching.  Somethings are worth planning our training sessions around!
  3. Volleyball season starts up again tonight.  Excited to play again.  No more concussions – I promise!!
  4. I’m quickly falling in love with Ommegang Brewery.  Their Hennepin is like drinking a cloud!!!  I think a weekend road trip to their brewery in Cooperstown N.Y. may be in order this summer.
  5. Only 89 days until the Blue Jays season opens… god I’m such a baseball geek.  Go Jays!!

That’s my week in a nutshell.  How was your week?

  1. January 5, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    My week has been slow recovery from the flu – thank goodness you only had a head cold. I have flown with a head cold – had two descents (just like you did) and my goodness, you are right that is pain I never want to repeat. Love the stories!

  2. sweatingforit
    January 5, 2014 at 9:07 pm

    I knew I liked you for a reason. Who Dat!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

