Home > Consistency, Tri Posts > Being Realistic

Being Realistic

worn out

I’m pooped!

So many people make New Years resolutions to ‘get healthy’ or ‘work out’ or ‘lose weight’.  And they all show up to the gym on January 2nd.  And I was right there with them this morning.

The alarm went off at 5:15, like it does every training morning, and my wife and I were at the gym by the time it opened at 6:00.  #Proud!

After changing, the first thing I did at the gym was step on the scale.  It was then that the full impact of the Christmas break hit me: I’m 6lbs heavier than when I last went to the gym, only 2.5 weeks ago.  That’s 6lbs of Christmas cookies, turkey and gravy, chocolates, and beer.  That’s 2.5 weeks of largely sitting on my ass (okay – I did spend 1 day skiing at Mt. Tremblant… and I had a pretty nasty head cold for half of that time… but after that I’m running out of excuses).

I’ve got a lot of work to do!!!

GetOffTheCouch

The problem is – it’s the new year.  It’s 2014.  I’m Gung-Ho!  I’m determined to start the new year strong!  I’ve got my 2-a-day training plan all mapped out.  I’ve got my new words for 2014 to inspire me.  I’ve got my new copies of The Time Crunched Triathlete and One Hour Workouts by my bedside (both Christmas gifts from my Mother-In-Law – will have to do a review post at some point soon).  I’m ready to hit it harder than ever before!!

… but my body isn’t.  My body remembers the 2.5 weeks off.  My body remembers all those cookies and gravy (not together though… gross).  My body hit it hard this morning, and is now in complete revolt!  Ouch!!!

One of my words for 2014 is Consistency.  And if I’m going to consistently hit my training plan, I need to be realistic in my planning.  I can’t do a 2-a-day, mid-season-intensity plan right now (nor should I, probably).  I’ve sat on my ass for the past few weeks!  I can’t jump back in and dial up the tempo on the treadmill.  I’m carrying an extra 6lbs of cookies!!

The fitness will come back.  The couch and junk food holiday is over now, but I can’t fix it all in one day.  And if I want to be consistent – and I do – I need to be a bit more realistic about my plan.  That extravagant training plan is going to need some… adjustments.  Maybe I won’t try to dive straight into 2-a-days (and maybe also I’ll have a salad for lunch today).  The alarm is going off at 5:15 again tomorrow morning – I’ll be back at it.  Consistently training, albeit a bit more realistic about the intensity 😉

But first, a nap might be in order when I get home tonight…

How is your 2014 starting out?

  1. January 2, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Naps are essential when you’ve had a couple of weeks off, especially over Christmas! Best of luck to you and your wife with your training.

  2. fitfor365
    January 2, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    Good luck with 2014 and keep up the naps.

    • January 3, 2014 at 12:09 pm

      Cheers my friend. Will keep up with the naps indeed!!

  3. January 2, 2014 at 4:25 pm

    Indeed consistency is the key! Now, if only I could do that. . .

    • January 3, 2014 at 12:10 pm

      I’m hardly an expert on consistency – it’s my goal for 2014, not because I’ve been good at it in the past. But I’m cheering for you too!!

      • January 3, 2014 at 1:21 pm

        Thanks! Right back at you!

  4. January 3, 2014 at 11:07 am

    Curious to see how things work out for both of us. I dropped my time working out to little more than half of what I was doing at the end of the season (ok honestly I was doing 8 hours instead of 13 or 14). Wondering if totally off would have been a better approach, Good thing is that you only have to deal with the crowded gym once a day unlike those of us two a dayers! Good luck and looking forward to following another great year!

    • January 3, 2014 at 12:12 pm

      I aim to work back up to 2-a-day at some point… hopefully some point after the NYE Resolution crowd starts to dissipate 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

