Home > Tri Posts > A Vacation from Training

A Vacation from Training

December 19, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

ExcusesFrom a training perspective, December is proving to be a total write-off…

It started with 2 weeks of Total Brain Rest after my concussion playing Hockey Football Bungee Jumping… [sigh] volleyball.  I was worried at the time it would derail the fantastic momentum I had going… and I was right.  But I haven’t exactly gotten back on the horse since then.  Sure, I’ve been to the gym a whole 4 times this month.  I guess that’s better than nothing (marginally).  It’s a far cry though from what I had planned.

I could blame a busy month at work.  I could blame the busy holiday season.  I could blame the cold, or the snow.  But really, the problem is simply that my Give-A-Shit levels are pretty low this month.  And I’m perfectly okay with that.

I left work at 4:00 today and am now officially on VACATION for 11 days (well, for the most part).  Tomorrow we begin our Whirlwind-11-Day-Cross-Country-Family-Visiting-Tour!

2013xmastraveltrip

No, we don’t intend to drive to Edmonton… but I was lazy, and it was easier to do this than to open up photoshop and draw a ‘flight’ line

We’re bringing our running shoes, and I hope to get out for a few casual runs over the break – not because I have a plan to keep, or a race coming up, but for the enjoyment of running.  Simply that.  I have a training plan mapped out for the new year to start working back into a routine, and I’m actually looking forward to getting back into it.  But as much as I need a vacation from work right now, I’m taking a vacation from ‘training’ as well.

How do you know when you need to take a break from your plan?

  1. December 20, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Good luck and happy holidays. I have had a terrible time with cutting my training back and I eagerly await next year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

