Home > Tri Posts > Sidelined

Sidelined

November 27, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments
bwahahahaha... oh the cubs...

bwahahahaha… oh the cubs…

Sunday night I suffered a concussion, playing rec volleyball of all things.  Who knew volleyball was a contact sport?!? I don’t really remember the injury (although now, over 48hrs later, it’s starting to come back a bit).  My teammates tell me I took out the player beside me “like a linebacker”.  Sorry Jess!  Hope you’re okay.

I expected this meant I would have to take some time off physically.  I was ready for that, I guess… though I was pretty frustrated.  Last week was an amazing training week – from a consistency perspective, and from a results perspective.  I was feeling great.  I could see progress.  The last thing I wanted was to have to shut it down for a while… or I thought that was the last thing I wanted…

My MD prescribed 48hrs of “Complete Brain Rest“.  What is complete brain rest?  Her description was:

  • NO TV
  • NO Video Games
  • NO Computers
  • NO Bright Lights
  • NO Loud Noises
  • NO Reading (I was allowed to flip through a magazine, but only to look at the pictures, and only if the magazine didn’t interest me in any way – gee, thanks)
  • NO Movement (apparently getting up to use the bathroom was okay, but after get right back to bed)

In other words: Nothing.  Do Nothing!!  Nothing that requires any brain activity at all.  How terrible!!!  This was a whole new world to me.  I’ve had physical injuries before – when I hurt my ankle, I know to stay off of it.  The body reminds me to stay off of it.  When I get a flu or a cold, I know to try to sleep.  The body wants to sleep to recover.

The mind doesn’t know it needs to recover.  The mind wants to be active – to think, to be stimulated, to be entertained.  When I’m not sick I can only sleep for so many hours.  And when I’m awake, and can’t read, or watch, or listen, or move, the mind searches for anything to focus on.  This is why solitary confinement is used as a form of punishment.  I was so bored!!!  Thank goodness we have cats who are still kitten enough to chase things.  They were my source of entertainment

I cheated a bit.  I had to.  I had my phone on the table beside me.  I checked Facebook or Twitter a few times, and even turned on the radio once or twice just for distraction.  But each time the headache started to come back, so it never lasted long.

Doc was right on about her 48hr prediction.  As of last night I was able to move down to the couch and watch a few movies.  Today I’m trying to move around a little bit – slowly.  So far I’ve cooked breakfast, washed a few dishes, and now (obviously) have fired up the laptop.  Everything in small increments.  She said to start reincorporating activities, so long as there’s no symptom relapse, with the aim to be “back to normal” in 10-14 days.  My only other firm guidelines:

  • No driving for at least a week
  • No running or triathlon training for at least two weeks

I’m still really frustrated that my training schedule is thrown in the trash can.  But at least my period of Complete Brain Rest is over.  Not being able to move is a real PITA.  Not being able to use my mind is a whole different limitation.  I really hope this thing heals up quickly.

 

  1. November 27, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Dude, that sucks. I would go crazy.

    Good to hear you are back at it. No need to rush, the treadmill will always be there……

  2. November 27, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Wow. that really really really sucks. I am so sorry. 😦
    But your brain is the key to everything in your body, give it the rest it needs so that it will function properly for you!
    Oh. So. Sorry.

  3. sweatingforit
    November 28, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    So sorry to hear that you got a concussion. I had one a few years ago from a student fight at my school. Yours sounds worse though! It took me a week to really feel 100% better.

  4. December 3, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    So very sorry to hear! I had one while skiing in high school. I never went to a doctor, and my basketball coach had me get back to work asap. Definitely a much better idea to rest!! I wish I had known to do so. Maybe I can blame any crazy spells on my concussion though?! Get well soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

