Home > Tri Posts > Not a Morning Person

Not a Morning Person

October 23, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

ride alarm

I don’t think I’m sharing anything new here… I’m not a morning person.  At all.

I think it’s my single biggest challenge as an Age Group Triathlete.  I hate getting out of bed.  It’s cold, it’s dark, and my bed is warm and comfortable.  Why would anyone want to get out of bed – especially early!  If I could sleep in every day I would…

Sadly, as a 9-5 working adult – let alone a triathlete – that’s not an option (I have no idea how I’m going to cope some day if/when I ever have kids!!)

The age group training community tends towards early morning training.  I used to fight against this – “Why do I need to get up early?” I would always ask myself… I could train at lunch!  I could train after work!  I could train in the evening!  I have so many options available to me that don’t require me to get out of bed early.

They don’t work.

The community, like most communities, has figured out the best way to do it.  Get up and train.  It’s amazing how many planned daytime/evening training sessions just don’t happen – for one reason or another, something gets in the way.  Even with the best of intentions, every time I tell myself “I’ll do it tonight instead”, it doesn’t happen.

No more fighting.  If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em.

This week I’ve started setting my alarm at 5:45am.  I suspect in time that may get shifted earlier still, but that’s enough of a change to the system for now.  That leaves me about 45-60 minutes of time at the gym in the morning before catching the bus to work.  For now, that’s a reasonable compromise.  It’s a stark change from the 7:30am alarm I had become accustomed to over the summer.

How has it been waking up at 5:45?

worn out

I’m making it work…  Surprisingly (or perhaps not), it’s having very little impact on my ability to stay awake at work during the day.  In fact, the morning training is giving me lots of energy, especially in the morning.  Where I notice it the most is at night.  Bed time comes EARLY now.  This old man is starting to fade by 9:00pm most nights.  And to reduce wasted time in the mornings (no need to set the alarm any earlier than necessary) I’m focusing on packing my gym bag, work bag, and lunch at night – which eats into an already shortened evening.  The result is a lot more to do in a lot less time in the evenings.

But, from a training perspective, it’s great!  It’s paying huge dividends, even just a half-week into the new routine.  I’m hitting my training sessions reliably and with a dedicated block of time, not squeezing them in when I can.  I feel more focused – like I can plan my work better instead of being happy with whatever work I can do.  It feels more like training (a rewarding activity) instead of working out (a burdensome activity), if that makes sense.

I’m not going to claim that I like waking up early – I don’t think I ever will.  But I’ve seen the light of early morning training.  An off season of a better training routine can only help me next year… so long as I keep getting out of bed!

  1. October 23, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    I get up at 5 AM and can totally relate. I think part of the gravitation for morning workouts is so that you can squeeze other workouts in through out the day. I find I usually hit a morning workout, a quick speed workout during lunch and sometimes an evening medium workout during the training season. Your on the right path, just need to add an evening workout or two to the morning workout come next training season. LOL

  2. sweatingforit
    October 24, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    I trained early in the morning for years. I’m very much a morning person. But my husband is not, and when he was working out at night and I was working out in the morning we never saw each other. I switched to working out in the evening and definitely prefer it. But I’m a teacher so my evening schedule is more predictable than most people’s

    • October 24, 2013 at 10:24 pm

      I can completely relate. My wife is a morning person. I am not. On ‘long run’ days where we both have > hour long runs sometimes we don’t see each other at all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

