Home > Tri Posts > Post Race Season Funk

Post Race Season Funk

September 29, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

eeyore

It’s been almost 2 weeks since my last post.  It’s been almost 2 weeks since I’ve done anything active at all.  The post race season funk has hit me hard, for sure!

I knew going into the race that I’d be taking a bit of time off after to relax and recover.  The first few days were full of aches and pains as I recovered from my longest race yet.  The biggest culprit were my trapezius muscles – partially from bad overall working-at-a-desk posture, but certainly aggravated during my swim.  I’ve had nearly constant headaches for the past 2 weeks from it, which are only now starting to die down.

Knowing that I’d be taking a few days weeks off from training post race, I also decided I needed to cut back my calories a bit.  Particularly my bad calories.  It started out as a full blown zero carb diet – that lasted about 2-3 days.  Who was I kidding?!?  But it’s evolved into a more reasonable low refined sugar, portion controlled, generally whole foods, (80% of the time) diet.  Yes, this has included giving up 1-2 cans of coke I was drinking each day.  Cold turkey.  I’m now 13 days caffeine free.  This probably also didn’t help the headaches the past week or two.  I was one grumpy S.O.B., that’s for sure!!!

What started out as a few days of recovery evolved into two weeks of laziness.  That’s the mistake I made, I suppose, giving myself permission to take a few weeks off – I took them, even when not needed.  No sense dwelling on it now – time to move forward…

Except I’m really struggling in how to move forward.  For the first time in roughly 18 months, I don’t have another race date on the calendar to train towards.  I don’t currently have any fall/winter runs lined up, and I haven’t given any thought to my 2014 season yet.

So what do I do?

My wife and I joined the YMCA this week – it’s starting to get colder here, and while running outside is usually still an option, it’ll be nice to take the bike and swim workouts indoors.  And holy crap do I need some strength training!!!  I’m looking forward to having a gym membership again.

But trying to make a training plan has been challenging without something to train towards.  How much should I train?  How often?  How long should my long runs and rides be stretched out to?  How many intervals do I need?  At a certain point it becomes paralysis by analysis.  For a lack of the right plan, I end up doing nothing.  I keep sitting on the couch under the guise of “recovery”.

At some point I need to get up off my ass and go for a run.  Who cares if it’s just a little 5k run?  Who cares if it’s training towards something, or simply keeping the body moving?  I don’t need to dive right back into a 2-a-day training plan, but I do need to get off the couch and do something – anything – to get me out of post race season funk.

  1. September 29, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    A “little” 5k? Hey, that’s definitely something!

  2. September 30, 2013 at 4:47 pm

    How about a 15k or half marathon during this off period. Stick with it and do not give up, you will over come this. Somewhat afraid of the same thing myself as two weeks and I will be done with my first season.

  3. October 7, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Don’t feel bad about resting up after your triathlon. I usually take a full week or two off of running after every major race so why should a triathlon be any different! Rest up, feel great, and just wait, that exercise itch will be back before you know it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

