Home > Tri Posts > In 4 days…

In 4 days…

September 11, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

triathlon-start

In 4 days I will be racing my first Olympic distance triathlon at Lakeside

In 4 days (and a few hours) my 2013 triathlon season will be finished…

In 4 days, I expect to be pretty damn tired!

I’m having really conflicting thoughts about the upcoming race.  I’m really excited to tackle my first Olympic distance – it’s going to be really amazing to say I completed 1.5km/40km/10km all in a single race.  I’ve made great progress this year.  I know I’ve dropped a bit of weight, and certainly added strength and speed.  I feel faster, and fitter, and healthier than I have since I was a teenager – it’s amazing.  And I’ve shown myself how much I love this sport – I really do.  I knew starting this year, signing up for so many races that I’d either love the sport, or leave it.  I can’t wait to tackle 2014!

At the same time, I’m really burnt out.  After doing a single race in 2011 and 2012, 10 was a bit much to take on in 2013.  And as much as I know I’ve improved, I haven’t improved as much as I had hoped I would.  I’m not sure how much was the length of the season (the physical grind, and the mental grind), or the recent move taking up a lot of time lately, or unreasonable expectations, or just old lazy bad habits sinking back in, but my training has really slowed down in the last month.  I can’t wait for this race to be over and to take a few weeks off from training (not just “not training” – I miss training sessions all the time – but honestly, planned, guilt-free time off).

This is not going to be the Big Finish, Personal Best, ‘A’ Race I thought it would be at the start of the season.  This is going to be an ugly fight of a race.  But I’m still going to race it, and enjoy it, and be crazy proud when it’s done!

I have no question I can do this, but I’m still a bit nervous tackling a new distance for the first time.

More than anything else, my goal is to finish and to enjoy the race and the experience.  As a secondary goal, I want to have a strong run.  I’m deliberately not quantifying this – I’m not particularly concerned about the pace.  I want to feel at the end of the race like I pushed through the physical and mental barriers (particularly the mental barriers) from the swim and bike, and ran a strong 10km.  I want to say I raced the best damn race I could for the fitness level I have – and remember the hard work I have put in this year to get me here.

In 4 days I will have raced an Olympic Distance Triathlon…

In 4 days I will have a PB time…

In 4 days I expect to pretty damn excited!

Road2HopePic2

  1. sweatingforit
    September 11, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    Good luck! I’m looking forward to reading your race report!

    • September 11, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      Thanks. Look for it on Monday (or maybe Tuesday if I end up spending Monday in bed)

  2. September 11, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    Oh my gosh! GOOD LUCK! I am SO excited to hear how it went! I wish I hadn’t wrecked and could do my last triathlon of the season this weekend, dammit. . . instead, I’ll send you powerful running thoughts. How’s that sound!? KICK BUTT and HAVE FUN!!!!

    • September 11, 2013 at 8:12 pm

      really sucks that you wrecked. But thanks for the cheering thoughts! Every bit counts!! 🙂

      • September 11, 2013 at 10:21 pm

        It does, but it is what it is. Have a great time!

  3. September 11, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    So excited for you, mine is still a month away and I have stuck to my training plan and I am already feeling all the emotions you are going through. You are going to do awesome, you have achieved so much this season. Race hard my blog friend, race hard.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

