Home > Tri Posts > My Own Worst Enemy

My Own Worst Enemy

BoxingRing

Ladies and Gentlemen.  In tonight’s Main Event, we bring you Dave v. himself.  This one promises to go the full 10 rounds!  DING!

Seriously – most days, I’m my own worst enemy.  I’ve done all the online research – learned a thing or two about Brick sessions and HIIT training.  I’ve mapped out my swim, and bike, and run schedule, and sprinkled some strength training into the plan.  I’ve planned my reps, thought through my workout, and I’m ready to go…

Then the alarm goes off, and the excuses begin.

ExcusesI’m my own worst enemy.

I recently read through an interview with Chris McCormack that I found really inspiring.  He touches at one point on the difference between physical strength and mental strength:

Physical strength is easily obtained. This is something that I find very basic. Mental strength is something that needs to be harnessed and understood. It is something that grows and is developed with time. It is something that most athletes and coaches don’t spend enough time developing because it is the most difficult of the training parameters to work on. It is about an athletes character and this is hard to work.

Lately I’ve been finding my mental strength in training has been wanting.  It’s too easy to skip a training session, or to go too easy in a training session.  All the usual excuses come creeping in.  The will to push through when it’s hard – that’s my new focus.  Because it is hard.  Seriously, step back and think about it for a second – completing a triathlon is hard!  It’s really hard!  Be it a Tri-a-tri, or a full Iron Man – it’s really hard.  If it were easy, everyone would do it.  And I’ve always believed anyone can do it – it’s about putting in the work necessary to get there.  It’s about the will to put in the work when it’s hard.  When it really sucks.  That’s how we do this.  That’s how we get better – how we get faster, how we get fitter, how we get better.

Yeah!  Let's Get It!!

Yeah! Let’s Get It!!

My focus over the next two weeks, until the Cincinnati Triathlon is going to be on finding and improving my mental strength.  Digging deeper.  Hitting those training sessions that in the past I might have found excuses for.  Pushing harder.  Building a mental strength base that I can harness coming out of Cincinnati and into the home stretch before my A race at the beginning of September.  I’m going to learn to stop being my own worst enemy.

~ DO’G

  1. July 8, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    Good post. The mental game is definitely tough no matter the distance. Not only are you doing a swim race, but as soon as you finish that you have a bike race. Then you come into transition and instead of grabbing a beer and calling it done you still have some miles to run before you can finish. In my opinion triathlon is an amazing feet. Doing it once is cool and unique, doing it again (and in some cases continuing) is beyond unique, it truly embracing the toughness that comes with the sport and learning from each experience.
    Which one are you doing, the Olympic?

    • July 8, 2013 at 9:23 pm

      In Cincinnati I’m doing the sprint race. In September I’m doing my first Olympic distance. I’m really excited for it, but have a lot of work to do between now and then

  1. July 17, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

