Home > Tri Posts > A Kickstart to Aero Bars

A Kickstart to Aero Bars

aerobars

A few months ago I attended the Toronto Bike Show for a little pre-season shopping.  The biggest item on my shopping list was a set of clip-on aero bars for my bike.  I came home empty handed.

I had a conversation with one of the vendors at the show about clip-on aero bars (in general terms – we did not discuss a specific manufacturer or product).  He suggested I would be disappointing with my purchase.  He pointed out that there is a distinct difference in bike geometry between a road bike and a tri bike – the tri bike’s geometry is designed to handle better with the rider’s weight forward over the front wheel in aero bars.  A road bike’s geometry is not designed to have the rider’s weight over the front wheel.

Fair enough.  I understand this is a bit of a subjective argument, but it gave me pause enough not to spend money.

I’m still intrigued at the idea of riding in aero bars.  I’m nowhere near ready to invest in a tri bike.  Seems I’m at a bit of a cross road…

Until tonight, while trolling through twitter, I came across the post below:

I had to check this out.  And really, you should too!

A new start up company, Redshift Sports, has come up with a prototype solution to address the dilemma of road bike vs tri bike.  They’re building 2 products – a set of clip on aero bars that can be installed/removed crazy fast, without any tools (making it practical to add or remove your aero bars depending on the ride you’re looking for).  AND, an adjustable seat post that can move from a forward position (closely resembling tri bar geometry) to a rear position (that of road bike geometry).

I don’t think I’m doing it justice.  Watch the video above again…

 

kickstarter

 

So here’s the gears: The product isn’t in production yet.  Redshift Sports has it up on Kickstarter, trying to secure funds to start up their production operation.  They’re looking for backers who are willing to help fund their start up costs, in exchange for several rewards (which in this case is product once it’s produced).

I did a very quick Google search to see what I could come up with.  I found this review on bikeradar.com.  The product seems legit, and the idea seems pretty great to me.  I recognize that it’s not a full solution to the bike geometry issue, but it’s a really good start.  So I decided to jump on board as a backer (my wife tells me its an early birthday present… Happy Birthday to me, I guess).

If their project goes to schedule, I should get delivery of my new aero bars and seat post sometime in September 2013 – a little late for this year’s race schedule, but that’s okay.  I like the idea of supporting a small start up company.  I look forward to trying my new set up in a few months (and blogging about how it goes).

Do you use clip-on aero bars?  Do you like them?

Have you ever backed a project on Kickstarter?

  1. June 4, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    Thanks for sharing the KickStarter project and definitely looks like it might have a place in the road bike triathloners out there. My experience with putting aero bars on a road bike has been great (http://iowatribob.com/2012/09/04/do-aerobars-really-help/). I’ve kept them on to this day and find riding in aero not only faster but more comfortable. I don’t have any issues with bike handling or any safety concerns. Overall, I’d highly recommend it if a tri bike is not an option.

    I look forward to reading any review you have when the Redshift gear arrives!

    • June 4, 2013 at 9:59 pm

      Great to hear you’ve been happy with your aero bars on your road bike. Handling and safety are my biggest concerns, so I like hearing the experiences of others

  2. sweatingforit
    June 5, 2013 at 7:03 am

    I saw this too two days ago. It’s amazing that it’s almost fully funded so quickly. I think I’m going to jump in as well since this product could at least solve the road bike/tri bike issue for awhile for me.

  1. March 21, 2014 at 8:51 am

Leave a Reply

