Home > Tri Posts > Getting Back in the Spin of Things

Getting Back in the Spin of Things

eeyore

I’ve had a lot of trouble getting going this week.  In a training funk, if you will.  Training for endurance events is as much mental as physical.  And as I’m learning, with multiple races in a year, it can start to take a toll on you.

Many endurance athletes like to get their work in during the early mornings.  And I don’t blame them…

  1. Summer temperatures are more sufferable
  2. It gives you a bit of energy for your work day
  3. It means you don’t have to invest hours of time training when you could otherwise be with family and friends

I get it.  I even agree with it.  But I still haven’t been able to haul my ass out of bed this week.

bedtime bear

As I said: A funk.  It’s been a rough week of short, uninspired training sessions.  And with each crappy session, I’ve gotten a little more frustrated with myself.

When it’s a mental funk, it takes a mental lift sometimes to get you out of it.  For me, that came this weekend, in the form of many inspiring posts by my fellow bloggers.  Bloggers who’ve seen improvement, overcome fears, taken on new challenges, found some perspective, and lots of others too.  I love it.  Thanks to all of you for helping to inspire me!

With 13 days to go before my first Triathlon of the season, it’s time to get back to work!

This morning was my weekly long bike ride.  The goal: 50km.  But I didn’t want to simply slug through the distance.  I had some goals for the ride:

  1. Work on fueling.  Last week’s 40km bike ride was a near bonk.  I need to work on my fueling strategy – particularly taking in calories without waiting for a traffic light to stop me (’cause on race day, hopefully that doesn’t happen).
  2. Work on form.  I read so much about form in the swim being so important, but it matters on the bike too.  Drive down with the heels.  Pedal through the full circle.  Keep my knees in (they shouldn’t be hanging out wider than my hips).  Support my upper body with my core – keep the arms light.

Lots of things to distract me from the growing numbness in my ass – it’s the first time this year I’ve been in the saddle for over 2 hours.

Overall a good ride.  50.77km.  Not a crazy-fast pace – there’s lots of pedestrians on the lakefront trail to have to go around, but I thought a good endurance session nevertheless.  And especially after the funk I’ve been in this week, it felt good to get out on the bike and push hard!

Now to go and eat everything in the pantry.  Holy cow I’m hungry!

What inspires you?  What helps you push when you’re lacking motivation?

 

  1. sweatingforit
    May 26, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks for the shout out! And for all those great suggestions of bloggers to follow.

  2. May 26, 2013 at 5:39 pm

    Congratulations on a great training day, and thanks so much for pinging me, or trackbacking, or whatever it’s called. I’m glad to hear that my words inspired you in some way. That experience sure did a number on me, too.

    Speaking of riding being a pain in the butt . . . I’m happy to report my new saddle is on my Trek Pilot 2.1WSD! I will play on it tonight on my trainer–still not ready for the out-of-doors yet (dammit). Stupid timing, too, I’m doing my second triathlon in 20 days! Egads.

    Glad I started training early this year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

