Home > Tri Posts > Training Log MIA

Training Log MIA

Sometimes the Internet makes me CRAZY!!!

Sometimes the Internet makes me CRAZY!!!

image credit

Most of us use some form of social media (be it Facebook, or Twitter, or one of the other bazillion options out there).  Heck – you’re reading an online blog.  I’m pretty much preaching to the choir here, aren’t I?

But do you use any forms of online tools?  Sites where you  have an account, and you input or access a certain amount of information.  And perhaps rely on that information to make decisions?  And perhaps don’t have any other (convenient) alternate ways to access your info?  Maybe you bank online?  Maybe you use a web email account (Gmail, or Hotmail)?  Maybe you keep an online calendar?

How lost would you be if it suddenly was “Closed for a Scheduled Upgrade”, for almost a week, with minimal notice?

I use a few different sites to keep track of my training data…

MapMyRunScreenShot

I use MapMyRun.com to capture my bike and run stats.  The app version on my phone tracks my progress via GPS as I run/ride, and the site gives me the data to analyze after I’m done.

LoseItScreenShotI use LoseIt.com to keep track of my weight (and, when I get the urge to count calories, I do this here as well)

And I use BeginnerTriathlete to track my training data.  All of my training history is logged here – it gives me a summary of workouts by type, by time, and by week or month…  Except right now it doesn’t do any of that.  Since some time on Friday, it’s been popping a splash page that it’s Closed for Upgrades.

Grrrrr.  I have almost a week’s worth of data written on napkins and scraps of paper around my house, hoping I don’t lose any of them, until an unknown time in the future when I can start data input to get caught up.  Doesn’t that sound like fun..

I’m actually a really big fan of BeginnerTriathlete.  It’s been good to me, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a free starter training log.  It’s pretty simple and user friendly.  You can start an account using minimal personal info, if that’s important to you.  It’s easy to input basic training session data and get a picture of how you’re doing.

It doesn’t do everything though, and that’s why I use 3 different sites (plus a spreadsheet to keep track of my workout plan – how inefficient!!).  I think more than anything though, I like that it caters to a beginner triathlete (hence, the name).  Most of the articles on the site are accessible to someone just getting into the world of training, and lots of them are motivational or success stories of people – like us – racing their first triathlon.

But I only like it when it’s working.  And the fact that it’s not working is driving me crazy!

Does this happen to other people?  Do you use an online training log?  How do you track your training?

Or do you use other online sites to keep other types of information?  Would you be calm and cool if your site suddenly went away?

 

  1. May 22, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    What’s wrong with spreadsheets, its the glue that holds my training tracking together. All the most important and consequential data goes in there. of course I use Strava, Training Peaks, LIvestrong/Daily Plate for the bulk of tools type of sites. If i did not have the spreadsheet I would panic if Training peaks went down. Good one.

    • May 22, 2013 at 5:32 pm

      I often think about beefing up my spreadsheet and tracking everything there. I like spreadsheets a lot. I keep my training plan in a spreadsheet b/c I haven’t found a (free) online tool yet that handles plans in a way that I like

      • May 22, 2013 at 5:34 pm

        That is pretty much why my spread sheet stil exists, all the tools do bits and pieces and none does it all. Most of the grids on my site come from my spreadsheet.

      • May 22, 2013 at 5:35 pm

        you have some nice data on your site. I like the way you do that – very slick! And I’m sure very useful for you!

      • May 22, 2013 at 5:45 pm

        In all honesty, it came about from trial and error. My training spreadsheet for this year has several early workbook pages that were useless. Over time I got better at training and tracking my training. I started off thinking oh I would like to know how many hours and what distances I am covering and from there it grew to its current state. Maybe I will post the spreadsheet up so people can see how much of a mess was there initially and how it works currently. Thanks for the compliment.

  2. sweatingforit
    May 23, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    I use Garmin Connect and like it ok. It’s got an app and I can use the wahoo fitness app to upload from the watch to Garmin Connect.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

