Home > Tri Posts > Dear Body

Dear Body

weight_lifting-300x224

image credit

Dear Body:

I know I hurt you yesterday.  I didn’t mean to, and I’m really sorry.  I hope you can forgive me.

I know it’s been a while since I last did any resistance training.  I know you don’t like it when I take long breaks from lifting – truth be told, I don’t like it either.  I didn’t really mean to take such a long break…

It all started with my long runs this winter.  At first I was doing really good, balancing my LSD running (Long Slow Distance… sheesh, silly minded body!) and my lifting schedules.  But over time the distances got longer, and took more of my time.  I didn’t manage it well at all.  And slowly, week by week, the lifting happened less and less.

I thought I would get back to it after Around The Bay.  I thought for sure things would change.  But they didn’t.  I wanted to, I really did.  First I took a recovery week, and then slowly started getting back into training.  But I got busy – I know that’s a lame excuse, but it’s the truth!  I found time for running, and biking, and swimming – but not for lifting.  I know you needed me to find time for lifting.  I know that hurt you deep inside.  I’m really sorry, Body.

But I’m back now!  Isn’t that wonderful news?! There’s a great new little gym in my new building.  I have no excuses any more.  I’ll change this time – I promise, I will.  If you could just find it in your heart to forgive me.  Please just give me a chance.

Please don’t be so mad at me for jumping right in my first time back yesterday morning.  I just got so excited to be back, I lifted like I hadn’t taken any time off at all.  That wasn’t fair – I know now.  I like being able to turn my head.  I like being able to lift my arms.  I like being able to walk.  I miss being able to walk – even if just 2 steps to the other side of my cubicle.  Just 2 little steps, is all I ask.  If you could just let me walk like I used to – like nothing was ever wrong – I swear… I’ll never neglect you like this again.

So whadda ya say?  Can we be buddies again, Body?  Please?

(I really hope so, ’cause we’re back at it tomorrow morning, and we’ve got Burpees coming our way… we’re only going to get through this if we work together)

Yours Truly

– Me

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

