Home > Tri Posts > Friday Stray Thoughts

Friday Stray Thoughts

FridayImage by Glenn McCoy

Happy Friday everyone!  For those of you looking for a little light internet distraction to tide you over until quitting time, here’s a Few Stray Thoughts for your Friday Afternoon

– – – – –

This weather sucks.  Seriously!!!  It’s April!  I should not have to scrape ice off of my car!!!

weatherHamilton130412

It’s actually a bit better than it was yesterday (at least the temperatures are a hair above freezing today, and look like they’re headed in the right direction).  But it looks like a seriously wet week.

I can deal with cold.  I can deal with rain.  But cold rain is pretty much the worse, and freezing rain is about as cold as it gets!  I’d almost rather have snow!

WHINE!!!!!!

I generally expect April to be when I can dust my bike off for the season – 1 ride the first week of April, 2 the 2nd, 3 the 3rd, and by the 4th week I should be doing 4 rides/week.  I know “April Showers Bring May Flowers”… but they don’t bring happy cyclists!  And I don’t think April Freezing Rain brings anything good at all…

– – – – –

I love this event!  Unfortunately, I’m late to the table blogging about the event, and it’s sold out (though there’s a wait list if you live in the area and have kids who might be interested)…

TriGator4Kids is a triathlon event for kids aged 3-14 designed to promote fun, activity, and participation.  Nobody is timed.  Everyone gets a finisher’s prize.  And all proceeds go to charities raising funds to get underprivileged kids into sports!  The race is organized in a safe and inclusive environment designed for kids and introducing them to the fun of the sport.

trigator2013distances

I think this is incredible!  I’ve been in touch with the organization to see if I can volunteer and help out (although the upcoming move to Toronto may put a kink in that plan, but I’ll still see what I can do).  This seems to me like everything that is good in our sport, all in one place: introducing kids to the sport and physical fitness at a young age, promoting the fun and accomplishment of the sport, and raising money for the community.  I really hope I can fit it into my schedule to help out.

– – – – –

awesomekeys

I wouldn’t normally post a link to a business article on this blog, but bear with me on this one…

This article came across my desk this morning: The 6 Keys to Being Awesome At Everything, posted in Business Insider.  The author is relating what he’s learned about improving skills in business functions to what he’s learned about improving skills in his tennis game, and extrapolates that the same skills can be used to become better at anything… say, public speaking, or learning a musical instrument, or… TRIATHLON (okay, I’m making this last connection here… value for your money folks!)

The points are pretty general, but I’ll grant him they’re true – probably nothing we haven’t all heard before, but also probably something we should all read again.

  1. Pursue what you love
  2. Do the hardest work first
  3. Practice intensely
  4. Seek expert feedback, in intermittent doses
  5. Take regular renewal breaks
  6. Ritualize practice

Take a read at what he says about each of these.  It’s a good reminder of the basic fundamentals of what we’re all trying to do to improve (even if triathlon isn’t what you’re improving on – whatever your skill or hobby is, this probably applies).  Myself in particular, I identified with item #4 – Seek expert feedback, in intermittent doses (aka: reading blogs and training articles for hours on end is overwhelming as hell!  Maybe I should stop reading so much and get out and train).

He also makes one other point that I’ve heard before (though I can’t remember where, though at least this author has a reference, so let’s go with that for now…)

Numerous researchers now agree that 10,000 hours of such practice as the minimum necessary to achieve expertise in any complex domain.

10,000 hours, huh?  So let’s say I do 8 hours of training on average per week (which, probably, is more than I actually do).  That’s 416 hours of training per year.  At this rate it’ll take me 24+ years before I become an “expert” triathlete…

… as I said, maybe I should stop reading so much and get out and train.

Have a great weekend everybody!

– DO’G

  1. April 12, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    10000 hours really. Wow, It would take me forever. Of course it does not help that I break it up into seasonal years.! Fun post, maybe you should do some training with the spare time

    • April 12, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      I like doing the Friday Stray Thoughts posts… good use of a Friday lunch hour at my desk (instead of working through my lunch, like I do most other days). But the rain looks like it’s letting up – maybe I’ll get a run in after work.

  2. April 12, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    The good news is that you don’t need to be an expert, with 10,000 hours invested to enjoy and be good at an activity.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

