Home > Tri Posts > Friday Stray Thoughts

Friday Stray Thoughts

FridayImage by Glenn McCoy

Happy Friday everyone!  For those of you looking for a little light internet distraction to tide you over until quitting time, here’s a Few Stray Thoughts for your Friday Afternoon

– – – – –

Can't beat the real thing!

Can’t beat the real thing!

Coke continues to be my single biggest food vice.  I tried to go cold turkey this week to cut it out… made it half way through Day #5 before I caved.   I’ve tried this before… it never seems to work…

I can’t stand the taste or smell of coffee (the first job I ever had was washing out coffee pots in a cafeteria – since I only worked part time, the pots were often well overdue to be washed), so coke is my only source of caffeine.  I definitely have a caffeine addiction, which is for sure a real thing.

It’s not so much that I need to kick the caffeine habit – but the amount of sugar in a can of coke is crazy!  There are 160 bad sugar calories in a can of coke (Note: When I was in the states a few months ago I had a can there and noticed there are only 140 calories in an American can of coke.  Why does our version have to have an extra 20 calories of sugar?!)

I’m not giving up just because Cold Turkey didn’t work the first time – I think the new strategy is going to be reducing to 1 can every 2-3 days (better than the 2 cans per day I was drinking at one point).  Let’s see if I can do that for a few weeks and then go from there.

Why do you have to taste so good, Coca-Cola?!? [shakes fist angrily]

– – – – –

Layin' Brick

Layin’ Brick

Tonight after work I’m doing my first brick session of the year.  I’m surprisingly excited about it – who the hell gets excited about doing a brick session?!  Apparently I do.  I had a chat about this with my wife the other day – how excited I am to be training and challenging myself.  She reminded me (very adamantly) of how much of a P.I.T.A. I was to live with a few years back when I felt like I couldn’t do it – “I can’t run 5k”, or “I can’t bike for a whole hour”.  It’s nice to look back and remember where we started, and how far we’ve come (and a special Thank You to my wife for putting up with my whiny crap in those early days).

Tonight’s Brick is brought to you by the letter I… for Indoors.  That’s because winter refuses to go away up here.  There’s still snow, and it’s still freakin’ cold.  And I’m a baby and don’t feel like bringing my bike outside until it warms up a bit more.  Not nearly as exciting as a brick outside, but I’m still looking forward to it.

– – – – –

http://www.zazzle.ca/my_first_triathlon_2011_christmas_ornaments-175733636304575133

www.zazzle.ca

Finally, a shout out to one of my fellow bloggers Chatter who is about to run his first Triathlon this weekend!  You obviously live in a warmer climate than I do!  Have fun, race fast, celebrate well!  Can’t wait to read about it after.

Have a great weekend everybody!

– DO’G

  1. sweatingforit
    April 5, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    I have a serious coke zero addiction which isn’t as bad because its sugar free. When my husband and I got married, he only drank coke but after a few months with me he was strictly a coke zero drinker and now he says coke is too sweet for him. Maybe you could try to mix in a coke zero every now and then and see if that makes it easier.

    • April 5, 2013 at 2:10 pm

      That’s a good thought… maybe I should try that

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

