Home > Tri Posts > Friday Stray Thoughts

Friday Stray Thoughts

FridayImage by Glenn McCoy

Happy Friday everyone!  For those of you looking for a little light internet distraction to tide you over until quitting time, here’s a Few Stray Thoughts for your Friday Afternoon

– – – – –

whistler logo

I’ve been back from Whistler now for a few days, and I still need to do a Destination post.  It’s coming, don’t worry.  I’m a few days late on this one, owing mostly to still adjusting to being back in the Eastern Time Zone, and being lazy about finding the cord to connect my camera to my PC (what’s a blog post without pictures, right?  Especially when I actually have pictures for once and don’t have to settle for logos off of Google Images for once!)

It’s coming… hopefully by the end of the weekend… maybe…

– – – – –

Cover_TriMag_0413b-243x320

Image from Triathlete.com

I picked up a copy of Triathlete Magazine in the Vancouver airport on my way home this week.  I’d forgotten how much I enjoy triathlon magazines.  There are dozens of them out there – this is the first time I’ve bought Triathlete specifically (thought I like it) – they’re all pretty similar: short articles about gear, races, training, nutrition, etc.  But I find them very motivational.  Especially when it’s grey and not-really-winter-anymore-but-still-not-quite-spring outside, they help remind me that race season is just around the corner!  I think I need to get a subscription again…

– – – – –

trimuskokaImage from Trimuskoka.com

Courtesy of Facebook, I learned about the TriMuskoka 2013 Summit.  It sounds really cool – key note speakers, seminars, activities, clinics – sounds kinda amazing, actually.  A great way to kick off the season.  Except it’s kind of expensive (and kind of remote), and sounds really geared towards the pro – or at least “good” – triathlete.  I feel like I would be really out of place signing up for one of the clinics in my overweight and out of shape state.  Maybe I’m just intimidated?

Wouldn’t it be amazing if there was a conference like this aimed at the beginner triathlete?  Seminars about bike maintenance and safety, or transition set up, or how to plan a training schedule?  Clinics on proper swim or run technique, or basic bike drills, or nutrition and hydration for rookies?  Does that not sound fantastic?!

I think it sounds fantastic… now I need to start looking for one…

Have a great weekend!

– DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

