Home > Tri Posts > Friday Stray Thoughts

Friday Stray Thoughts

February 22, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

FridayImage by Glenn McCoy

 

Happy Friday everyone!  For those of you looking for a little light internet distraction to tide you over until quitting time, here’s a Few Stray Thoughts for your Friday Afternoon

– – – – –

This is crazy.  The good kind of crazy that totally motivates me.  I don’t expect to ever be a racer like this, but I’d love to someday train like this.  Tim Don is one of my new heros!!

– – – – –

I signed up for my A race this week – the Wasaga Beach Olympic Distance Triathlon.  That’s right – Olympic Distance, which is a step up from the Sprint Distance races I’ve been racing up until now: 1.5km swim, 40km bike, 10km run.  C is for Courage this year, so here I go.  Actually I’m pretty excited to be stepping up the ladder.  The odd thing was, when signing up, they asked me for my expected finish time.  Apparently they’re doing start waves by expected finish this year instead of by gender/age.  They put this chart in front of me and asked me to predict my finish time (in 10 minute increments):

What would you pick?

What would you pick?

I’ve never raced this distance before.  Holy Crapshoot Batman!  I wasn’t expecting to set my goals for the race so early.  I think I selected 3:20:00, which is pretty slow, but not “last 10%”.  Who knows.  Have you ever had to set a goal so far in advance?  I have no idea what my race time will be in a brand new distance 7 months from now.  Weird.

– – – – –

This weekend is my first half-marathon.  Kinda nervous, kinda excited, and surprisingly indifferent.  I’m treating this as a “C” race – I would have done a long run of 21+ km this weekend anyway, why not try a timed race, right?  If this were an “A” race, I would say I’m under prepared and a bit nervous.  Instead, I’m just going out to have some fun, do my best, and take my finish time – whatever it is – as feedback for how my training is going.

… still, kinda pumped I’m actually running a half marathon.  Me!  A half marathon!  I remember 2 years ago when I couldn’t run a single kilometer.  I remember the pain running brought.  To everyone who says they’re too big or out of shape and can’t run, I say stick with it.  It sucks at first, and can be really discouraging, but little by little it gets better.  Until one day a few years later you look back and say “Holy Shit – I can do this”.

Happy Friday Everyone

– DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

