Home > Tri Posts > Back to life, back to routine

Back to life, back to routine

February 13, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments
The cruisin' life

The cruisin’ life.  Not so great for tri training…

I’m really struggling to get back to reality.  After spending a week in the Caribbean Sea, I got back to snowy Ontario late Sunday night, only to work one day on Monday before being hit with a flu.  Go figure – a week on a 3000 person incubator of a cruise ship and I came away with a bug.  My souvenir, I guess.

The cruise was amazing.  7 days of constant sunshine and 25°C+ weather.  Unbelievable.  We had a great mix of active exploration and lazy lounging.  We got to visit 5 islands we hadn’t previously seen (most of which we would go back to in a heartbeat).  I now understand why so many Canadian “snow birds” go south for the winter.  Getting away from the snow was A-MAZE-ING!

But I was ever aware of my training plan (and how everything I did was kicking it in the teeth).  We made it to the gym twice during the week… not a lot, but not nothing.  We took the stairs all week instead of the elevators (our room being on the 2nd floor, and the food/deck/pools being on the 9th-11th floors)… again, not a lot, but not nothing.  I tried to keep somewhat mindful of portion size (I was aware at least, when I was eating copiously large portions at the buffet… seriously – why are the plates at the buffet over a foot in diameter?!?)…

… actually, I really did do nothing to help out my training plan.  But it was a great vacation!  And by the end of it, I’d only put on 6lbs.

So now I’ve been back for three days.  And thanks to the 2-day flu I brought back with me, I haven’t run once.  I have a half marathon in 11 days.  My first half marathon.

Holy Crap!

I had a bit of a freak out moment with my wife tonight, to which she sympathized, then promptly put me in my place.  “Just run” she said.  And she’s right (she’s pretty usually right).  I can’t stress about missed time, or broken training plans, or gained weight, or post-flu muscle weakness, or any other lame excuse that comes up because I’m scared shitless!  I just need to get out and run, and get back into a routine.

11 days.  Here I go.  Back into the routine of a real world.

~DO’G

Tags: ,
  1. February 13, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Glad to hear that you’re feeling somewhat better at least! You got this! You’re inspiring me!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

