Home > Tri Posts > Blue Monday

Blue Monday

January 21, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments
Not a good way to start the day...

Not a good way to start the day…

Happy Blue Monday everybody.  I know it’s completely baseless pseudoscience crap, but why not take any excuse to get out and do something extra fun and uplifting?!

My day started off on the wrong foot, but the ship righted pretty quickly.  I got up this morning at quarter past stupid o’clock and drove 70 kilometers from home in Hamilton to Waterloo to meet my sister for a pre-work swim.  When we arrived at the pool…

Girl at the ticket wicket desk “Are you here to use the pool?”

Us, carrying our bathing suits and towels and swimming goggles “… yes”

Girl at the ticket wicket desk “Oh.  Well the pool is closed today.  There’s a leak in the floor, so we had to drain it.  It’s expected to open again in about two weeks.”

(… and I thought to myself, “if there’s a leak in the floor, won’t it drain itself?”  amiright?)

The reasonable response would have been to turn to my sister and ask if I could go back to her place to use the shower before driving into work.  Instead, I turned to her and said “Wanna go for breakfast?”

Yep, what started out as an empty swimming pool and cancelled swim training session quickly turned into Monday morning breakfast plans and a visit with my sister.  Win!  (And yes, I showered once I got to work – hooray for new office buildings with showers in them).  I’ll make it up to myself in my after work training session.  That was a good start to today!

What have you done (or will you do) today to beat Blue Monday?

  1. January 21, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    Well that’s a good way to turn it around! I treated myself to a lunch break away from the office today- so good to see the sun!

    • January 21, 2013 at 12:46 pm

      The sun is wonderful here too. Great call getting out of the office for a lunch break!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

