Home > Tri Posts > Y! M,C,A!

Y! M,C,A!

Anyone else singing the Village People song right now?

Anyone else singing the Village People song right now?

I bit the bullet this week and joined the YMCA.  I’ve avoided joining a gym for a while now (mostly because I’m cheap), but really, it needed to happen.  The thought of more running on the icy and not shoveled sidewalks was more than I could bare.  But the thought of not running was even worse.

I joined the Downtown Hamilton YMCA.  It’s in a crazy old building in the middle of old downtown that was never intended to be a gym.  The reception is up a floor from the entrance.  The changing rooms are on different floors – you have to go down a level to get to the cardio machines, and down another to get to the pool and cycling studio.  However, from the change rooms you go up a level to get to the gymnasiums (who builds basketball gymnasiums on the 3rd floor?!?).  I got pretty lost my first visit there, but still managed to get a 5km run in.

One of the nice things about the YMCA in Hamilton is that the membership works at all 5 locations, one of which being just off highway on my way to work.  Score.  And, unlike the downtown location, it’s a new building that was actually built to be a gym.  Double Score!!  This morning on my way to work I went for an early morning swim, and on my way home I stopped back in for a run and a bit of resistance training (that makes 3 workouts in 24 hours after having not worked out in the past 10 days… I’m gonna sleep well tonight).

I’m definitely going to have to get used to running on a treadmill again.  It’s so nice to be running in shorts in January, but a treadmill is so different from running outside.  Everything from the feel underfoot to the feel of the air.

But I think the biggest difference is the technology – running with a TV screen in front of you, and control over speed and incline… and programs.  Do I want to run hills?  Or intervals?  Or “around the world”?  So many options!  And the data – it gave me the distance I’d run, but in Miles (which led to doing math on the run!  Ha!  get it?… pretty bad, huh?)

I’m actually really excited to have a gym membership again, and I like the idea of joining the YMCA.  I like seeing volunteers there, and lots of kids around.  It really has a community feel, which works for me.  And it’s nice to be able to focus on my training again without worrying about the weather.  Now it’s time to get to work…

It’s fun to stay at the Y! M, C, A!…

Do you prefer to run on a treadmill?  Or outside?  Do you notice a difference?

Tags:
  1. sweatingforit
    January 6, 2013 at 9:03 am

    When I lived in Baton Rouge, everyone was a member of the YMCA. It was the most popular gym in town. Then when we moved to New Orleans, there were NO YMCAs! I prefer running outside but I have a treadmill and a bike trainer that I am making good use of right now. Enjoy the gym!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

