Home > Tri Posts > Cold, Long Run

Cold, Long Run

December 23, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments
Re-using my Wetaskiwin picture... just to emphasize the cold

Re-using my Wetaskiwin picture… just to emphasize the cold

Today in Siberia Wetaskiwin it was -19°C with a wind chill of -28°C.  Fucking cold.  Nevertheless, and thanks to a wonderful pep talk from my wife, I went out for my long run.  7 laps of a 2.01km city block.  Mid way through the 2nd lap I stepped awkwardly off  a sidewalk curb completely masked by unshoveled show and rolled my ankle a bit.  By the end of the 4th lap my water bottle was frozen shut.  By the end of the 6th lap the sweat on my eyebrows had also frozen.  What an experience that was.  But in the end I completed my 14km run in under 1:45:00.  I’ll take it.

In fact, I’m actually pretty happy with it.  I stuck to my plan and executed the whole distance.  I didn’t bail out.  Not due to cold, or discomfort, or cold, or frozen water, or cold.  I didn’t quit.  I finished strong.  As a Weekend Warrior, that’s what we shoot for – finish strong!

The run also put me over the 100km mark for the month with a full week to go.  Holy Hell!  That’s the first time I’ve eclipsed that milestone by a long shot.

No biking this month

No biking this month

It actually feels really good to look at those numbers.  I’m sticking with the plan.  I’m getting my long runs in (even when it’s crazy-cold).  I’m actually improving.  This is pretty damn sweet!

Now, if it’s all the same to you, I think I’ll avoid using my legs in any way for the rest of the night.

~DO’G

  1. sweatingforit
    December 30, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    That is so cold. Even after google converted it to Fahrenheit for me. Today I ran on the treadmill because it was 36 F and felt like 26 F. You are hardcore!

    • December 31, 2012 at 8:13 am

      It was really cold. Was nice to go there to visit family, but I’m kinda glad to be back home where temperatures are a bit more reasonable…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

