Home > Tri Posts > What did I just do…

What did I just do…

November 18, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m signed up! Are you?

Hol-y Shit.  30K!  What the hell am I thinking?!  Too late now – I’m signed up…

Mark it in the calendar: March 24th 2013.  Somehow, I’ll be running the Around the Bay 30K Road Race.  Umm… wasn’t it just 2 weeks ago that I was celebrating having run 10K.  In what world did I think tackling a 30K next was the right idea?  I sure am a sucker for punishment!

Okay, let’s look at this in a little more supportive light.  The race is 18 weeks away.  4 months.  That’s a long time to stretch the legs out (I hope).  Plus, it’ll give me a good training goal for the off season – no time for slacking now!  Also, my wife has signed up, as have 2 of my good friends (room for more if anyone else is crazy and wants to give it a shot… nudge nudge).  Having other people you know in the race adds to the fun, and helps keep you accountable to your training plan.  Although really, they’ll all be done and have time to go for a coffee before I crawl across the finish line.  But whatever – crazy as this might be, I’m kinda looking forward to it.

2013 schedule has now officially kicked off.  Time to start making a training plan.  Time to get my ass off the couch.  Time to keep telling myself “I can do this” (fake it ’till you make it, right?)

Gulp

-DO’G

 

  1. November 18, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Wow, nothing like staying focused and honest during the off-season like signing up for a longgg race! 😉 You’ve got this, Dave–let the training begin!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

