Home > Tri Posts > I’m officially a runner now!

I’m officially a runner now!

November 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yep – that’s my foot. Hope we’re all friendly here…

There are a lot of measures one could use to qualify that they’ve finally joined the inner circle of “runners” (as opposed to persons who have gone out for a jog on occasion).  Maybe by having entered a race, you consider yourself a runner.  Or maybe by having run a Personal Best (thus showing progress), you consider yourself a runner.

You know how I know I’m finally a runner?  Because I finally have my first black runner’s toe (ewwwwww…)

I actually debated for a while about posting the picture on this blog or not – I’m trying to post more original photos, but it’s a picture of a foot, after all.  My foot.  Is that weird?  But, ya know what, it’s a blog about me, and about multi-sport, and runner’s toe is a valid topic of conversation.  Plus, I’m actually kinda proud to have my first runner’s toe.  And besides, we’re all friends here, right?  It’s a crappy grainy iPhone picture of a foot… whatever!

I only first found out about runner’s toe when my wife started to get bruising under her toe nails when she was training for her half-marathon this summer.  I did a little reading up on it (about as much as one can do on their lunch break while still leaving enough time to write this post… and eat… which basically means I read one web page).  According to Livestrong “Soreness and bruising in the toes is not unusual for runners, especially if you are training for a long race or have recently amped up your mileage”.  Sure enough, my toe first started to feel sore after my 10K, although last night (being over 2 full weeks later) was the first time I thought to actually look at it.

Seems the likely culprit is ill fitting running shoes.  Not surprising – my shoes are pretty dead after the pounding I put them through this summer.  The budget allows for a new pair in January – I think this time I’ll actually go to a runner’s store and get fitted properly, instead of buying whatever shoe was on sale from the half-paying-attention teenager working at the “sports” shop in the mall.  Good shoes aren’t cheap, but are probably worth the investment.

In the mean time, I’m kinda enjoying my runner’s toe.  It’s my badge of honor (sort of).  I feel like I’m part of the running community now – I’ve paid my dues.  And it doesn’t hurt too much, except when I wiggle my toes and it brushes against the top of my work shoes.  At least I don’t have to worry about fancy open-toed shoes or painting my nails or such – that puppy can stay black and bruised as long as it wants to.  I’ve earned it!

(and I promise – no more pictures of my feet on this blog)

– DO’G

  1. November 15, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    The Runner’s Shoppe (At Avenue and Bloor) is the BEST for finding the perfect pair of shoes for your unique feet and running style. They have awesome staff and really know their stuff. GO!

    • November 15, 2012 at 12:59 pm

      Great tip – I’m in Toronto often enough, I just may have to pop in!

  2. November 15, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Congrats (?!) on your runner’s toe! Ha. And yes, definitely go to a running store to get fitted!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

