Home > Tri Posts > All is quiet

All is quiet

November 7, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Found this on a real estate website. Apparently it’s a street in Grants Pass, OR

I’m feeling a real sense of calm tonight.  The race season is over.  There’s nothing immediate to train for.  My wife and I went for a nice 5k run tonight.  It was good to lace ’em up again, and nice to go for an easy run.  We walked a few times, just ’cause we felt like it.  We had more of a conversation than we normally do while running.  Easy.  It was what I always think running should be.  Before the training plans, pace trackers, and intervals, there’s easy.  There’s fun.

As nice as it was to go for a run without a plan – and it was – it’s starting to feel too quiet.  I feel like I need a plan.  I need a goal – a race to be training towards.  I’m trying to tell myself to relax.  To enjoy the quiet.  To enjoy the off season.  But I still need a plan.

I’m working on a post to reflect back on the 2012 training and race season.  And another post to plan for 2013.  I think those are going to take a bit more time and though than most of my posts, so they may wait until the weekend (work gets in the way during the week… *sigh*).  So until then I guess I’ll continue to enjoy the quiet… or try to, at least.

Do you enjoy the quiet time after a goal?  Or do you jump right into the next one?

  1. November 8, 2012 at 5:52 am

    Dave, I’m feeling the exact same way right now! The tri coach I’m working with wants me to work on my bike and swim this off-season, so running hasn’t been a high priority. Don’t get me wrong–I’m still lacing up the sneakers and logging the miles, but I’m simply maintaining my base right now, aka there’s no plan. When I run, I go by feel; if I feel good, I’ll do a tempo run or speedwork, but if not, then I default to an easy run. This approach works for the off-season (and for my off-season goals), but I do miss having a plan and training for a race. I am doing a turkey trot on Thanksgiving, so I will definitely sprinkle in more speedwork, but I’m definitely not “training” for it.

  2. sweatingforit
    November 10, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    I think switching gears is nice too. Now that tri season is over, I’m training for a half marathon. Gives me a chance to stay in shape but not get burnt out on triathlons.

    • November 11, 2012 at 9:42 pm

      Shifting gears like that sounds like a great idea! Have you done a half before? Or will this be your first?

      • sweatingforit
        November 12, 2012 at 9:03 pm

        I’ve done five or six. It’s a good distance because the training doesn’t consume you but it’s still a challenge.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

