Home > Tri Posts > Race Day: Hamilton 10K

Race Day: Hamilton 10K

November 3, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Confidence before the race… sure, we can do this…

Okay, first to deal with the elephant in the room – no post in almost 3 weeks.  Bad blogger Dave.  No sense dwelling on the mistakes of the past.  I’m back, and hopefully a bit more consistently this time!

Today was race day – my first foray into the 10K running distance courtesy of the Hamilton Road2Hope Marathon weekend.  I got to share the running experience with my cousin, and two of my close friends here in Hamilton.  It was a lot of fun to have a “team” – I’m very used to doing my triathlons on my own.  Having family and friends in the starting chute with me was a very nice new experience.  As we were standing in the chute, waiting for the count down, we decided that next year we need to make team t-shirts.  If only we’d thought of that sooner!

None of us are great runners.  We were each there to try our first 10K (in fact, I think for all of us, our first road running race).  We were joking about our time goals before the race started.  My goal was to finish in under 1:20:00.  My friends were joking they simply wanted to finish in under 2:00:00.  It’s good to have goals, I guess.

There’s something special about Race Day I’ve decided.  The energy, the enthusiasm, the vendors and food tents, the t-shirts and goodie bags, the music and announcements through the PA system – all of it gets you ready to perform.  I kinda wish I could have PA speakers and enthusiastic announcers every time I stepped out my door to go for a run.

The four of us managed to stay… roughly… together for about the first kilometer before our different paces started to reveal themselves.  I’m glad it played out that way.  I was worried about running with a group that we would try to all stick together the whole time instead of each trying to run our personal best.

And it turns out I did run a personal best.  Well, of course I did – it was my first 10K.  But I actually was pleasantly surprised when I rounded the last corner towards the finish line and could see the time clock ticking away.  1:09:(and ticking).  I could beat 1:10:00 – I knew I could make that final push.  The crowd was cheering.  The clock was ticking down right in front of me.  And I did it.  1:09:41.  For reference, that’s the same pace as 34:50 per 5K, just a hare off my 5K Personal Best of 34:48 pace.  Yep – very happy with that result.  My cousin finished in roughly 1:04:00, and even my friends (who wanted to beat 2:00:00) finished in roughly 1:17:00.  A great race for everyone!

I finally have my first Finisher’s Medal

So that’s it.  My 2012 Race Season is over.  I’m really happy with it.  Think I’m going to take a few days to decompress, then start thinking about my off season goals, and 2013 race plans.  But don’t worry, I won’t disappear from blogging again 😉

When do you start making plans for the new year?

PS – Very impressed by the organizers of the Hamilton Road2Hope Marathon organizers, in spite of tomorrow’s Marathon being full they have opened an additional 250 spots for racers from the area who were signed up and had trained to run this weekend’s NY Marathon.  Great of them to find a way to help pick up some of those displaced runners as we all try to get back on our feet after Hurricane Sandy.

  1. Gladys Herbert
    November 3, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    Congratualation Dave I am very proud of you and you team well done love Aunt Gladys

  2. November 4, 2012 at 6:08 am

    Congrats on your first 10-K and PR, Dave! Way to end the season on a high note. 🙂 I have a few more tentative races scheduled for 2012–like a Turkey Trot, hot chocolate run, etc., but nothing I plan to truly “race–but I haven’t made my 2013 race calendar yet. There are a few triathlons I’m eying; I’d really like to do my first two again so I can see how much I improve. I plan to join a tri club here in the city, so my race schedule will most likely be decided by the coaches.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

