Home > Tri Posts > Back on the horse

Back on the horse

October 14, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

 

This past weekend was a bit of whirlwind weekend up to Montreal for the last of our many weddings this summer (congratulations Devin & Sarah – lovely service, great party).  I’m not making much of a post of the trip to Montreal – we got in at 2:30am Saturday morning, went to a wedding, and left again at 7:30am Sunday morning.  I didn’t take a single picture, nor did I go for a run.  And the beers, while good, weren’t post worthy (although I do love being able to buy from a selection of Unibroue at the local corner store… ahh Quebec).  We saw enough of the city that my wife and I have decided we need to go back and visit again sometime, but not enough to have any stories.

The funny thing about driving so much in a weekend (8hr trip each way) is that it leaves you really tired.  My couch has never looked better than it did this afternoon when I got home.  So while sitting on said couch, partially paying attention to the football on TV, I contemplated how much I’ve fallen off my training plan these past two weeks.  That’s not to say that I haven’t trained these past two weeks, but it’s been sparse, and unplanned.  One quote I once heard (and I apologize – I don’t remember where I heard it, so I’m not trying to take credit for this, but I don’t remember who to give credit to):

If it’s not planned, or measured, it’s just exercise – not training

Yep, that’s my problem.  I’ve fallen back into the old habit of deciding each day, on a day-by-day basis, if I feel like training… and how much I feel like training.  And as a recovering Couch Potato, it’s always really easy to justify not training.  There’s always an excuse (and rarely a good one, even on the spectrum of excuses, which by definition aren’t good to begin with).

So I need to get back to the plan.  This feels like a bit of a tired refrain – Dave makes plan, Dave does well.  Dave gets lazy and falls off his plan, Dave stops doing well.  It’s almost like a relapse (which seems wrong to say, as most times when we talk about relapsing it’s falling back into something much more significant than being sedentary, but it’s the best analogy I’ve got tonight).  It’s time to get back to the plan.

Here’s what I’m thinking for this fall.  I may drop the Thursday run after work in November once my 10k race is behind me.  References below to “Iron Workout” are resistance training sessions that I take from The Athlete’s Book of Home Remedies – seriously awesome book to have on hand!

I guess the new plan starts tomorrow morning with a Yoga session before work.  I’ve done this a few times lately (one of the few things I have been doing during my 2 week relapse) – YouTube is a great source of yoga classes on demand without having to leave the house.  I’m all about convenient and cost effective solutions to keep me going forward – anything that remove excuses is a good thing!  What I like about doing yoga is the focus on stretching, flexibility, and core strength – possibly the 3 things I need to work on more than anything else.  I’m hoping it will help make my run stronger.

-DO’G

  1. October 15, 2012 at 7:34 am

    In terms of triathlon training, I’ve definitely backed off my workouts too. Hey, it’s the off-season, right? I’m still running on a regular basis–and trying to ride twice a week until it snows–but swimming hasn’t happened in about a month. Oops. In my defense, though, I am incorporating more yoga and strength training into my schedule, which definitely counts as cross-training.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

