Home > Tri Posts > Destination: Buffalo

Destination: Buffalo

Happy Thanksgiving Weekend!

Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving weekend everyone!  Hope your weekend is full of fun, family, friends, and lots of turkey!

It’s been about a week since my last post – all kinds of excuses, most of them not terribly exciting (although I have spent over 10 hours this week on the phone with our internet provider Bell Canada – seriously hope I can ditch them and switch to a competitor soon).

But I digress.  This post is a (late) focus on last weekend’s trip to Buffalo NY.  Great trip!  I had no idea Buffalo did beer so well!  We started with a trip to Premier Gourmet for some take home bottles.  I should never have been introduced to this place – so many amazing breweries (and wines, and coffees, and cheeses, and kitchen kitsch-y things).  You can even get growler service here.  And while it’s technically in a whole other country, it’s only an hour’s drive from home.  Seriously.  Dangerous.  We did good – we kept our spending to under $50.  But I foresee return trips, possibly soon, and possibly more expensive…

My wife and I carting our haul away from Premier Gourmet

After checking into our… affordable… hotel room at a Super 8, we cabbed it down to our first destination: The Blue Monk.

We grabbed a table on the patio, right in front of the sign for their Beer Garden… yep… Beer Garden…

Holy Crap this place is good.  Seriously-OMG-how-soon-can-I-go-back good!  I started off with a pint of Pumking by Southern Tier Brewing Company that they had on tap.  Heaven.  Pure heaven.  It was even the right color for pumpkin.

Me and my pumking. My wife and our friend Anabel with other equally amazing beers too

Not only was the beer great – and we tried many – but the food was outstanding.  My buddy Rob and I each had the “Monk’s Mac ‘n Cheese”.  Mac ‘n Cheese – good.  Bacon – great.  Beer sauteed onions – fantastic!

So good, we gave it the Thumbs Up

We stayed, and drank, and ate for a couple hours before walking the half mile down the street to our next destination: Cole’s

Good times at Cole’s

Cole’s was just as good – so many incredible brews to try.  Of course by this time in the night the camera didn’t come out quite so often.  I didn’t try any of their food – lunch kept me full for the rest of the day – so I guess I’ll have to go back sometime soon… to try the food, that is… that’s it.

Amazing trip – great friends, good times, wonderful beers.  Unfortunately, didn’t get a chance to go for a run while in Buffalo.  Maybe next time I’m there.  For sure I’ll be back!

-DO’G

  1. October 6, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    A lot of my friends are from the Buffalo area, and they are some of the most legit people I know, which makes me love the city, even though I’ve never been there. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

