Home > Tri Posts > Good Tired

Good Tired

September 28, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

My wife and I dancing at the wedding this past weekend

First – and most importantly – Happy Birthday to my lovely, brilliant, and wonderful wife.  I love you sweetie.  Hope you have a great day, a fun weekend, and a wonderful year!

* * *

They say it takes 2-3 weeks to adapt to a new routine.  Well, I’ve been into my new running regimen for 2+ weeks now – I’m exhausted, and it’s not necessarily getting any easier.  I guess that’s to be expected – the weekly mileage is increasing (and I keep running uphill – literally – I need to find some flatter routes on occasion).  I was hoping by now I’d be a bit more used to the routine though, even if not the distance.  But fatigue is fatigue, and when the body wants rest, it doesn’t care about your routine on a calendar.

This week’s running distance is 19.84kms (compared to 27.63 last week, and 21.19 the week before).  And I think that’s where it’s going to stop.  I’ve hit on every run so far, but I think my body is telling me it’s ready for a few days off.  And I think I’m going to listen.  I feel good though – last week I re-introduced resistance training (which I carried into this week), and this week I re-introduced swimming back into my program.  I think I’m actually training harder now than I was before the triathlon duathlon.  Yep, time to back it off.

But the pain isn’t without gain.  My 5k run is getting easier, if not faster, but I can run it with less walking more reliably than I could a month ago.  And I can run it with less OMG-I-feel-like-I’m-going-to-die-ing, which is good!  It’s really good.  I actually don’t feel intimidated any more by a 5k run.  I know I can do it!  Now I’m trying to do it better.

Plus, while getting ready for work this morning I walked past the mirror and noticed improvement!  WOOHOO!  We all see ourselves in the mirror every day, it’s hard to see change.  But today I saw it.  Holy shit that’s a good feeling – even if I’m just imagining it, it felt really good.  I actually said out loud “Dave, stop sucking your gut in… oh wait, I’m not”.

This is why I do this – racing is amazing: it feels so good to go fast and be on the clock.  And getting better time splits on training runs is rewarding.  But at the end of the day I’m doing this for my health – my long term health – and it’s working.  Exhausting as it is sometimes (I’m still a couch potato at heart), it’s working.  It’s so worth it!

A few days off to rest and recoup, and then right back into it on Monday.  It’s working!

In other news, I made a decision and registered for the 10k race in the Hamilton Road2Hope race weekend, not the half-marathon.  I’m still stretching myself – I’ve never raced a 10k before, and there will be lots of time to try to stretch out for a half-marathon in the new year.  In light of how busy work is, and my wife’s school schedule, and everything else in life – and wanting running to remain fun – I think 10k is a better distance to focus on… for now.  Either way, I ultimately consider myself a triathlete (not a runner), so training for either of these races is only going to help my triathlon running next year.  I’m excited!

Do you have a moment you remember where you realized “it’s working” (be it health, fitness, family, school, career, or anything else in your life)?  Share your stories and let’s celebrate together!  Let’s make it that kind of Friday!!!

  1. September 28, 2012 at 9:24 am

    You’re doing amazing, babe. Trust me, the results have been visible to the rest of us for a while.

    “It’s working” – when my pants started not fitting – the looser way – on the damned diet.

    I need to get working on resistance training again – having my knee busted for the summer made cycling a no-go and I am missing having some kind of muscle tone.

    • September 28, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Resistance training is great – not my favorite activity, but it sure makes a difference. I read once “if you look like a pear, and all you do is diet, the best you can hope for is to become a smaller pear” (I’m not at all saying you look like a pear – it’s a quote). I’ve been doing mostly body weight resistance training from The Athlete’s Book of Home Remedies (not sure how to put a link into the comments, but Google it) – they’re fantastic, and completely ass-kicking.

      • September 28, 2012 at 9:52 am

        Oh, I know what to do – it’s just a matter of making it a priority. It’s too damned easy at the end of the day of work & theatre & kid to just flop in front of the computer and call it a day…

        I’m less and I’m a smaller pear, as it were, but with the back issues, I need to be a stronger pear.

  2. September 28, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Tackling a 10-K is still on my fitness bucket list. I’ve done a ton of 5-Ks, a 15-K, and even a half-marathon, but it’s difficult to find a 10-K; hopefully, I find one this fall. 🙂

    • September 28, 2012 at 11:33 am

      A 15-K?! That’s an odd distance – you don’t see many of those! They run a 30k race here every spring – I’m tempted to get in one of these years, if nothing else because you don’t often see the 30k distance offered!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

