Home > Tri Posts > Mailing in a post

Mailing in a post

September 19, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Came across this picture posted by someone on Facebook. My first thought: “I wonder if that’s ‘Race Legal’?”

I’m totally mailing this one in.  I got nothing, but I feel like it’s been so long since I’ve posted that I should write… something…

So… umm… Running is going good.  I ran my 7km today (actually 7.69km ’cause apparently I can’t do math and run at the same time, but if you’re gonna get it wrong, longer is better than shorter, amiright?)  So far I’m completely on pace for my half-marathon training plan.  But they’re getting tougher.  The stats don’t show it yet – my pace is a pretty consistent 7.5 minutes/km, but I’m feeling tired.  The legs hurt a bit more each time.  This is what I was kinda worried might happen.  So there’s that…

What else?  Oh, I lifted weights today.  That was fun.  I phased resistance training out during the last few weeks of my Tri Du race training (kinda by accident, kinda by work/time restraings, kinda by laziness) and I’ve been slow to get back on the horse.  It felt good.  I dove back into one of “The Iron Strength Workouts” listed in The Athlete’s Book of Home Remedies (a great book my lovely wife bought for me for my birthday several months ago – seriously go check it out, if you want suggested workouts, or information about various athlete injuries, or just a weird bedtime read).  Holy cow those workouts kick my ass six ways from Sunday.  Seriously.  I have a love/hate relationship with burpees.  So there’s that too…

I’ve been working on a nasty head cold for about the past 5 days (sorry to everyone who was at my table at the wedding this past weekend… you’ll probably start to notice it in a day or two, if you haven’t already).  This one’s been a doozy.  I think the worst part about head colds is trying to fall asleep.  I can tough it out during the day (although my wife may take issue with that statement), but falling asleep congested SUCKS.  It sucks especially when you’re planning to get up the next morning for a pre-work run… or maybe it gives you an excuse to sleep in… I guess it’s a matter of perspective.  But I really honestly am trying to get into a good running routine, so it sucks… I think…

I started using my calorie counting site Lose It again – I’d kinda fallen off the wagon on that one too… since February.  But I’m back.  Today was interesting – between my Iron Strength Workout and my 7+km run, by the time I sat down for dinner I still had a negative caloric intake for the day.  Salad planned for dinner was delicious, but did very little to put a dent into a full days allotment of calories.  What am I gonna do with all those available calories?!  Beer it is, I guess…  Cheers!  Tonight’s selection is a Big Wheel “Deluxe Amber” (whatever the hell that means) from Amsterdam Brewery.  I like it – it’s distinctly more drinkable than my usual preference for kick-you-in-the-teeth-hoppy IPAs, but in a good way (maybe I should start the occasional beer post?  ‘Cause that’s totally related to Tri Training, and learning to get off the couch and in shape… right… but it still might happen, for those of us who won’t ever be Pros or Elite racers, there’s an element to training/life balance that could be fun to talk about).

Okay – that’s seriously all I got for tonight.  My beer is empty – time to get another…

What do you think?  Should I start a segment about beers?  I could call it Pizza and Beer Fridays… I might even post it once a week (maybe) 

  1. September 20, 2012 at 7:22 am

    I have a love-hate relationship with burpees, too! They are killer!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

