Home > Tri Posts > Football Sunday

Football Sunday

September 16, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

A cheery sunny day picture, courtesy of Google Images

First off, a shout out to my good friends Will and Selina for tying the knot last night.  Lovely wedding, lovely couple, fun party!  And great food!  This morning I sat down with my calorie-counting app Lose It to try to recap the damage from last night.  I gave up – we’ll write it off as a “good taste bud, bad calorie day” and move on.  I ate too much great food.  Thank goodness I did my long run yesterday morning.

Sunday morning has become quite special to me.  Sunday is rest day.  It’s my day.  It’s a day to wear sweat pants, and watch football.  It’s a day to “sleep in” (ha!  remember once upon a time when you could sleep in until noon on a weekend morning – easily?  I slept in until 8:00 this morning!  It felt great!  Yay grown-up life 😉 )

This past week was the first week of my Half-Marathon Training Experiment.  I’d call it a success.  I hit on all three of my planned runs, including my first 9km run yesterday.  It went fairly well – not a glamorous pace, but I walked a lot less than I anticipated.  I did my full 21km week.  I’m very happy with that.  Up next is a 4-run 27km week, including a 10km long run next weekend.  I can do this.

But first today – Sunday.  Rest day.  My “Me” day.  There’s something very satisfying about a planned day off from training, knowing that you’ve met your weekly goals.  I’m looking forward to a day of watching football (with possibly a few house chores and maybe a few hours of work mixed in… Yay grown-up life 😉 )

What do you like to do with your “You” Day?

  1. September 16, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Eight a.m. is “sleeping in” for me, too. Ah, the glamorous lives of triathletes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

