Home > Tri Posts > So, What’s Next?

So, What’s Next?

September 12, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I got nothing new, so here’s me again from last weekend’s race…

My triathlon season is over after only one race this year.  Definitely got the itch to race more though.  Must make sure I get into more races next year.

My wife put the bug in my ear a few weeks ago about the Hamilton Marathon Road2Hope weekend.  They do a 5k and 10k on the Saturday, and a Half and Full Marathon on the Sunday.

When I first heard about it I was bummed – I have a known work meeting that Saturday morning that would conflict with the 10k race.  But then I did my race this weekend, which got bumped from a triathlon to a duathlon minutes before the start and suddenly I had to run 50% more than I expected.  Sure, I was one of the slowest in the field.  But I did it.  I really surprised myself with the increased distance.  It’s really got me thinking… maybe I can do the Half Marathon?

Okay – let’s try to think this through.  Excluding my race, the most I’ve run thus far in one day is 5.3km.  And the most I’ve run in one week is about 16km.  The race is in 8 weeks.  So here’s what I think a training plan would have to look like (distances in kilometers)…

I’m completely pulling this out of my ass – I’ve looked at a few training schedules online (surprisingly enough, none of which go from 5.3km to 21km in only 8 weeks).   Is it reasonable?  I have no idea.  A week ago I would have told you I could barely run 5km.  Then I raced 7.5.  Does that mean I can do 21km this week?  Or 27km next week?  One way to find out…

I’m not going down this path thinking I’m going to come in anything other than last in the race, if I race at all.  The goal is to finish – ’cause, shit, could you imagine if I could run a half marathon?!  You know, I’ve been considering this for a few days now, and I still pause each time I think about it.  Me.  A half marathon.  No way…

I think the first step is to get through the first 2 weeks.  The weekly mileage really ramps up compared to what I’m used to in the first 2 weeks.  As long as I don’t fall too far behind the plan here, this thing might happen.

The next step is to get through weeks 3 and 4.  There isn’t much special about weeks 3 and 4, except that the last day to register and be guaranteed a t-shirt is October 1st (and let’s face it – if I’m going to kill myself to run a race, just to come in last, I damn well want my t-shirt!).  If somehow I’m not dead after 4 weeks, and keeping up with the plan, then I’m in.  And as I learned today at work my meeting that weekend is off the books, I can now fall back to the 10km race if need be.  Win!

I started it off with a 7km run this morning.  On track so far 🙂  Gonna need a lot of support to get through this one…

What do you think?  Is this crazy?  Or so crazy it just might work?

 

  1. September 13, 2012 at 6:14 am

    For my half-marathon, I followed Hal Higdon’s intermediate half program, which had me running five days each week. (Here’s the link: http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51132/Half-Marathon-Intermediate-Training-Program) I really liked the plan because it incorporated both speedwork and tempo runs. I should note, though, I didn’t start the program from week one; I had a solid base coming into training–I could run 10 miles comfortably–so making the jump to 13.1 wasn’t infeasible. Also, my longest run prior to the half was 12 miles (as per the program), and I felt like hitting the 13.1 mark was totally doable. The general rule of thumb is to increase your long-run and weekly mileage by no more than 10 percent. (Math isn’t my best subject, though! ;)) Good luck!

  2. September 14, 2012 at 8:48 am

    I say go for it! You will get lots of support close to home – 🙂 and from far away as well! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

