Home > Tri Posts > Final tune up

Final tune up

September 5, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I finally remembered to snap a picture of the Hamilton Lakeside trail before starting my workout

Well, that’s it.  2 more rest days, and then Race Day.  Tonight I got my final tune up brick in – a 15km ride followed by a 5.2km run.  Overall, not bad.  A great ride, and an acceptable run.  It was hot out there, even as the sun was going down, it was still over 30C with the humidex.  But the race, being in the morning, that shouldn’t be an issue.

I’m excited for the race.  The past few days I’ve been a bit frustrated at my relative lack of fitness this year.  I think I’m going to struggle to match last year’s times.  I should be able to run a PB – my running is so much stronger this year than last year.  But my cycling is weaker as I’ve moved my focus this year from the bike to the run.

I’m starting to be at peace with my current training.  I’m working on taking this a lot less seriously.  That doesn’t mean I’m not going to give it my all – I think the adrenaline of Race Day will take over and help me do my best – but I’m not so worried about the numbers at the end of the race.  Barring a catastrophe, by noon on Saturday I’ll have finished my 2nd sprint triathlon.  I’ve already achieved my goals through the training and health improvements this summer.  It’s time to race and have fun!

… but speaking of catastrophe, while pulling my gear out of the car post-workout tonight, I grabbed one of my cycling shoes and pulled it out minus one strap buckle.  Shit.  Fortunately I was able to find the buckle lose in the trunk of my car.  Even more fortunate, I was able to find the screw that should be holding it in place, also lose in the trunk of my car.  You’d think I’d set right to work fixing this when I got into the house, but like a true blogger, instead I snapped a picture and reached for my laptop (seriously though – I better try to fix it as soon as this post is done)

okay, so it’s a crappy iphone picture – but that’s the buckle that should be on the side of my bike shoe, and the screw that should be holding it to the shoe

now, where did I put that screwdriver…

-DO’G

  1. September 6, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Love that you took a picture first–you know you’re a blogger when … It sounds like you’re physically and mentally prepared for the race; you’ve prepared and put in the hours. Before any race, I remind myself to trust my training. It’s difficult to not obsess over times and splits, but once the race begins (and I enter “the zone”) those worries go out the window–it’s all about racing hard and having fun. Good luck! 🙂

  2. Chris
    September 6, 2012 at 9:26 am

    You’re gonna rock it, Dude!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

