Home > Tri Posts > My favorite vice

My favorite vice

Can’t beat the real thing!

I’ve started following a blog I found recently: sweating for it.  Today she posted about one of her favorite vices, being Coke Zero, and her efforts to cut back.

Sounds kinda familiar…

Hi, my name is Dave, and I have a problem.  I live off of Coca-Cola.  I’m addicted to it.  I pretty much can’t function in the morning without cracking a can.  Some people need their coffee in the morning.  Me, I need my coke!

I’ve been pretty good lately about keeping to 1 a day (except sometimes 2 on weekends, or when camping, or when I work from home, or when I’m tired, or when I just really want another coke).  It’s a surprisingly hard drug to kick!

It seems that caffeine addiction is a real thing (according to the reasonably accurate Wikipedia):

…people who take in a minimal of one hundred milligrams of caffeine per day (about the amount in half a cup of coffee) can acquire a physical dependence that would trigger withdrawal symptoms that include headaches, muscle pain and stiffness, lethargy, nausea, vomiting, depressed mood, and marked irritability.  Griffiths strongly believes that caffeine withdrawal should be classified as a psychological disorder.

Well… crap.

A can of coke has 34 milligrams of caffeine (according to the possibly reasonably accurate internet site Energy Fiend).  So I can afford to have 2 – and most of a 3rd – cans per day before having a dependency strong enough to lead to withdrawal symptoms that [one could argue could be] classified as a psychological disorder?  Phew!  Thankfully I usually stop at 2 😉

But does this really matter?  Well, according to the semi possibly reasonably accurate internet site Livestrong.com (I’m pushing it a bit here, probably):

…some studies have linked caffeine consumption with dehydration, and an excess intake of caffeine can cause nervousness, insomnia and diarrhea.

(okay – that isn’t exactly rocket science, but I thought it seemed better to quote… somebody… rather than claiming this obvious stuff myself… even if they are probably trying to sell me little yellow wrist bands)

So what does this all mean?  Well…

  • Caffeine is necessary to get my ass going in the morning
  • I have a borderline caffeine addiction (read: possible psychological disorder)
  • Caffeine is potentially linked to all kinds of crappy things that make training a PITA
  • Coke is really damn tasty!

Okay, okay.  I know I need to cut back.  I’ll throw it out to you, faithful readers: what’s the one vice you know you should cut back on (but maybe sometimes only try sorta hard to do so)?

-DO’G

  1. sweatingforit
    August 22, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    Ha! Thanks for the shout out! Up until a year or so ago, I would drink Coke Zero right up until I went to bed. Then I started having some serious trouble sleeping and switched to Sprite Zero or Fresca in the evening. Slow progress.

    • August 22, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      I understand completely! I have to cut off by roughly 3pm otherwise I have a real hard time falling asleep. I don’t understand people who can drink coffee or other caffeine in the evening – how does that not keep them awake?!

  2. Chris
    August 31, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    There’s actually not all that much caffeine in a can of Coke, but I’ve read that sugar can also be addictive. I wonder what would happen if you switched to Coke Zero or something…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

