Home > Tri Posts > Pacing matters

Pacing matters

This guy’s got the right idea

I got up this morning at 6:00am for a brick training session (and, by that, I mean my wife woke up at 6:00am and half an hour later I felt guilty enough to also haul my ass out of bed).

Today’s training session was a 16.8km bike followed by a 2.5km run.  Not huge distance by any stretch, but I’m still tired following Friday night’s festivities (I planned to wake up at 4:00am to watch the Olympic Triathlon… I ended up staying up until 4:00am instead).

The bike went really well – for a small distance, I pushed hard and rode at a great pace by my standards.  But I had nothing left for the run.  Nothing.  For only 2.5km, I walked more than I ran.

It’s easy to be disappointed in how poorly I ran, but I can work on that.  I think the bigger take-away from this morning’s session is the value of pacing.  The fast start on the bike was great, and training is all about pushing one’s self.  But there’s also a need to listen to the body – understand how much gas it has to burn, and manage that accordingly.

This sport always has something new to teach me

-DO’G

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

