Home > Tri Posts > Damn memory

Damn memory

We have a love-hate relationship…

Memory is a funny thing.  Too often we forget things that we really wish we could remember.  Sometimes, we remember things we really should have forgotten.  And rarely do we realize either of these things are happening until it’s too late…

Last night my lovely wife and I did resistance training for the first time in… well, a while.  It’s on the training plan, and we’re working on getting back to adhering to a training plan (I have a love-hate relationship with training plans too).

Did I mention, it’s been way too long since I’ve lifted weights?

I hauled out the equipment I needed, looked at them and said to myself “I remember what exercises to do, and how much I was lifting”.  I did – I remember quite accurately how much I was lifting last time I did these exercises, way too long ago.  I jumped right in and did the same resistance.  With a few grunts, I managed to slug through it.

I have a vague memory of my wife making a comment somewhere around my 8th or 9th leg press rep last night.  Something like “Don’t push too hard”…

So today I can hardly walk.  I was ok when I woke up – sore, but ok.  I tightened up a bit in the lengthy drive to work.  Now, sitting in my cubicle, my thighs are SCREAMING at me.  Funny thing that memory – it remembered what I could lift, even if I really should have worked back up to it.  It remembered what to work out, but somehow while stretching afterwards, it completely forgot to stretch my thighs.  I did a full stretch session, and managed to stretch everything except the muscle group I pushed the hardest.

I think going forward, I may try writing down my lift and stretch plans.  No more counting on this memory thing…

-DO’G

  1. June 11, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    Aye – memory can be a bitch. Writing things down (where you can find them again!) is your best chance for sanity.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

